CANVAS (Prompt: Denial)

37FCCAA1-4047-4830-8F64-B98049AF423F.jpeg

``
Your eyes spelled my doom
and yet all I saw was peace
an ocean so calm and gentle
I could walk on it and not sink.

And when your words cut my soul
and your wrath met me with a sharp kiss
all I felt was bliss,

Your voice like thunder
Left my heart fluttering
as one listening to sweet
symphonies,

for surely even your wrath
met me with promises of your love
and your voice enveloped me in warmth.

On the day your fist met my bones
flashing colors of bright red
movement so fluid
rhythm so flawless
like the beatings of a drum
as the songs continued
telling tall tales
of how love could not endure
without pain as an anchor.

And today, as my skin went cold
and my eyes lost its warmth,
sounds of beating drums receded
like a heart beat fading softly
sweet symphonies reduced to silence
life slipped from shattered bones
and bright red painted your canvas,

I realize
that Fate was cruel,
Life was cold,
Love was war,
And peace; the sound of a beating drum
But you my love, were an artist
And I was happy to be your canvas.

Original image link

This is my entry for Blockchain poets weekly prompt “Denial”.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center