Homeless

Stars


Tomorrow is just an excuse
The faithless forget
I awake and shave my head
Falling to the ground
I pray to the sky above
Father hears my every word
As I watch the morning dew
I gather my thoughts
I deepen my prayer
I never ask for anything myself
Casting no shadows upon my life
Those less fortunate get my attention
Those in need, those alone
My vape hits my lips
As I think of family and friends
Those at the homeless shelter
Where I live, those on the corner
Addicted babies born
Those with nothing to eat
A place to sleep or
A hot shower, dignity
Every day I witness this
With a sad face and a heavy heart
That's why none of my prayers fall on me
I'm too humble to ask for myself
I watch God's work daily
Answered prayers as homes are found
Hot meals are given three times a day
Showers are provided, and dignity restored
Every morning my prayers repeat
Every day I see results
I see new people enter
Ones with no hope
Fearful; frightened.
Bringing nothing with them
Coming in from the cold or heat
Eating for the first time in days
Hearing God's word, many for the first time
Softening up after a few days or weeks
Living inside and eating
Showering and shaving
Feeling like a human
Hearing the word of God
Changing their lives
The future looks up
The past fading away
Not dreading tomorrow
When night comes
I pray over a few of my brothers
Thankful for what we receive each day
The little things in life
We've grown to not need much
We came here with nothing
No hope, or possessions
We've humbled and found the word
Every day we ask to be
Washed in Jesus's blood
We don't worry about the trials of tomorrow
We go to sleep ready to pass each day
True freedom, no longer chasing happiness
We've found peace today
Serving those coming behind us
Beginning their journey as we did
Scared with nothing, no hope
Amazing transformations
New declarations on life
The beginning of the beginning.

I believe we all pray to the same God no matter what we call them, even the God of science. It's all the same thing. Somehow we got here and when we die we go somewhere. This isn't it.

Erodedthoughts

Check this out @pimp and @indiaunited

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments