Dreem-Wotw S1 R1 | Sanctuary, where are you?

Greetings fellow poets 🙌

Hi everyone 🤗. I'm back again to this lovely community of expressive hivers to share with you my entry for the Dreem-Word of the Week contest ❤️.

This will be my first time joining WOTW, thanks to my dear friend @samsmith1971. You can see more details about the contest in her post here 🤗.

My entry will be in form of a poem and it was my first time writing one in English from the start. I'm not even sure if I understand it completely, but this was what came through.

As I've been learning, letting words and expressions flow is sometimes the best and most accurate way to put yourself out there. So, I really hope you'll enjoy it 😁.

Sanctuary, where are you?

Lost hope
Lost all faith.
Trapped in this rope
In a shape of an eight.

What is that place
Of inner peace?
A sort of a maze
Where I can find my release.

My beloved Sanctuary
Oh, where are you?
I just want to return
And surpass this through.

They keep trying to get into
My sacred home,
But I just can't let them view
What I'm really made from.

I just need this moment
Of pure silence,
To fight against my opponent
For much needed guidance.

Final notes 💭

I wrote these verses a few days ago, after a big silly argument with my partner. I went for a walk in the local park to calm down and the words just started to get around my head. So, I wrote what I felt at the time, the need for a sanctuary, a place of silence where I can put my thoughts and emotions in order.

I always needed that alone time to function and I've been trying to respect it more. Having space, silence and time to process is my sanctuary. My special place where I can just be, overthink and come to conclusions. It's what I need to recharge and build up my strength.

In a way, my sanctuary is within my own mind and the amazing this is I just figured this out now, as I'm writing this to you! How amazing is that??

Well, I now need some time to process this conclusion and therefore, I'll take my leave. Thank you so much for reading and for your time 🙌.

Text dividers made by @cryptosharon and free to use

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
35 Comments
Ecency