The Immigrant Experience/ La Experiencia Del Inmigrante [ENG-ESP]

I’m not sure many people know this but I’m not fully Ghanaian. I was born in Ghana which makes me a Ghanain but when I trace back my origin from both sides of my family, one leads me to another country. So, the gist is, my mom is originally not fully Ghanaian.

She grew up in another country and lived there until she got married and settled in Ghana again. From the stories I’ve been told and the times I’ve seen her travel to the countries she used to live in, I can see from how happy she was cos those places are really home for her. Leaving your home to start a life somewhere else can be a struggle at times. I say this because I have experienced it first hand.

In my moms case, Ghana was also home but most of her family members were not in Ghana and that made everything feel different for her. Regardless, she adapted fast and started to fit in. This is something not everyone is capable of doing. This lady is really my hero because can you imagine she was able to learn all the local languages in a year. Even my dad who’s Ghanaian can’t speak even the most famous local language but that’s probably because growing up, he didn’t stay in Ghana. My mom was able to learn all the local languages from the south, make friends and even start a business which flourished. And she did it all like it was some piece of cake.

I’ve stayed in other countries before and all I can say about my stay there is that aside all the fun, it was exhausting. Exhausting in the sense that I didn’t know my way around most things and even though I wasn’t trying to fit is because I really don’t care, I had a hard time with most things especially the food. If you know a bit about Ghana I’m sure you know how we love local foods. Over here, we don’t eat burger for lunch , we eat fufu for lunch.😂 Burger is more like a snack for us but in most countries it’s lunch and even supper for some people. In those times I was away from my country, I always prayed to come back to my country just for the sake of food.

Also, I have friends who are immigrants in Ghana and even other countries and sometimes I understand how they feel. Most of those who moved from Ghana to other parts of the world complain of how lonely they are. In Ghana, we love to spend a lot of time with people but in other parts of the word everyone is busy. I understand that not everyone can deal well with loneliness but I know for sure it wouldn’t even be a problem for me. I’d even be happy because there’s no one in my space.😂

Maybe, in the future, I might consider being an immigrant in another country and I hope it goes well, that’s if I even decide on that.



SPANISH



No estoy seguro de que mucha gente lo sepa, pero no soy completamente ghanés. Nací en Ghana, lo que me convierte en un ghanés, pero cuando rastreo mi origen de ambos lados de mi familia, uno me lleva a otro país. Así que, la esencia es que mi madre no es originaria de Ghana.

Creció en otro país y vivió allí hasta que se casó y se estableció de nuevo en Ghana. Por las historias que me han contado y las veces que la he visto viajar a los países en los que solía vivir, puedo ver lo feliz que estaba porque esos lugares son realmente su hogar. Dejar tu casa para empezar una vida en otro lugar puede ser una lucha a veces. Lo digo porque lo he experimentado de primera mano.

En el caso de mi madre, Ghana también estaba en casa, pero la mayoría de los miembros de su familia no estaban en Ghana y eso hizo que todo se sintiera diferente para ella. A pesar de todo, se adaptó rápidamente y empezó a encajar. Esto es algo que no todo el mundo es capaz de hacer. Esta señora es realmente mi heroína porque ¿te imaginas que pudo aprender todos los idiomas locales en un año? Incluso mi padre, que es ghanés, no puede hablar ni siquiera el idioma local más famoso, pero eso es probablemente porque al crecer, no se quedó en Ghana. Mi madre pudo aprender todos los idiomas locales del sur, hacer amigos e incluso iniciar un negocio que floreció. Y lo hizo todo como si fuera pan comido.

Me he alojado en otros países antes y todo lo que puedo decir sobre mi estancia allí es que, aparte de toda la diversión, fue agotador. Agotador en el sentido de que no sabía cómo moverse por la mayoría de las cosas y aunque no estaba tratando de encajar es porque realmente no me importa, lo pasé mal con la mayoría de las cosas, especialmente la comida. Si sabes un poco sobre Ghana, estoy seguro de que sabes cómo nos encanta la comida local. Aquí, no comemos hamburguesas en el almuerzo, comemos fufu en el almuerzo. 😂 La hamburguesa es más como un bocadillo para nosotros, pero en la mayoría de los países es el almuerzo e incluso la cena para algunas personas. En esos momentos en los que estaba lejos de mi país, siempre rezaba para volver a mi país solo por el bien de la comida.

Además, tengo amigos que son inmigrantes en Ghana e incluso en otros países y a veces entiendo cómo se sienten. La mayoría de los que se mudaron de Ghana a otras partes del mundo se quejan de lo solos que se sienten. En Ghana, nos encanta pasar mucho tiempo con la gente, pero en otras partes del mundo todo el mundo está ocupado. Entiendo que no todo el mundo puede lidiar bien con la soledad, pero estoy seguro de que ni siquiera sería un problema para mí. Incluso me alegraría porque no hay nadie en mi espacio. 😂

Tal vez, en el futuro, podría considerar ser un inmigrante en otro país y espero que vaya bien, eso es si siquiera me decido por eso.


This is my entry to the #septemberinleo prompt day 19. Read more about it here- [September INLEO writing prompt](https:// inleo.io/@leogrowth/monthly-prompts-september-inleo-b5u).


Esta es mi entrada al día 29 del #septemberinleo. Lea más al respecto aquí- [September INLEO writing prompt](https:// inleo.io/@leogrowth/monthly-prompts-september-inleo-b5u).


all images belong to me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments