Things We Want

As a child, I longed for long, flowing hair but mine was cut into a pixie cut. My hair is poker straight and stubborn about growing. For ease of care Mom cut my blonde hair short during grade school.

When I was fourteen I drew a picture of a haircut that I wanted. Mom took me to a barber who cut my hair. When I was shown a mirror to look at my cut I was appalled at who was looking back. The Barber had cut my hair over my ears! I cried on the drive home. I never let Mom take me to a barber again. After that haircut, I began to let my hair grow out. I didn't want to be mistaken for a boy again.

I'll never grow hair long enough for a long braid, but nor will I be mistaken for a boy, either. I chalked it up to living and learning.

Ai Art created with Blue Willow Discord channel.

This is my five-minute freewrite
using prompt long braid by @felt.buzz. I challenge you to join the challenge and add @freewritehouse for regular contests!

Tuesday is Burn Alive Day in the Alive Tribe. I will burn Alive to promote this story. You can join the Alive Tribe an opportunity to win Alive!

#IAmAliveChallenge join us on Discord, and check out our Hive Community.
Made in Canva


rose7.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center