Locked Out

"Oh no!" Sandy cried out as her hand flew up for a facepalm. The car remained idling but her keys were in the ignition. Her purse sat on the passenger side of the front seat. Sandy's cell phone peeked out of the top of her purse.

Sandy leaned up against the running car and slumped in frustration. No keys, no phone, and a strange city met her crisis square. She took a deep breath and looked up and down the road for signs of life. A small coffee shop at the end of the street seemed the next possible step. She ran across the street and headed for the coffee shop at a brisk pace.

The bell announced her entrance. A petite waitress with a sleek black ponytail greeted her warmly and asked her what she'd like to drink. Sandy looked around to see if anyone else was in the shop. A rather rotund lady was humming in the kitchen. Sandy glimpsed her flour-covered arms as the cook worked the dough into a soft ball.

"I'll have a coffee, I guess."
Sandy let out a deep breath.
"I need help, and I wondered if you know who I can call to get my car unlocked."

The pretty waitress smiled broadly.
"My Pa is the local locksmith," she said. She navigated to the phone at the front desk and dialed a number. She spoke for a couple minutes and came over to Sandy with a hot cup of coffee and a cookie.

"My Pa is on his way!"
Sandy smiled in relief and sat down to sip her coffee in a small, unfamiliar town, grateful for the kindness of a stranger.

This is my five-minute freewrite
using prompt weigh heavy by @felt.buzz. I challenge you to join the challenge and add @freewritehouse for regular contests!

Monday we plan out the week for the Alive Tribe.
Here in my loose plan:
Monday - worked - posted.
Tuesday - work, burn Alive
Wednesday- work, stake Alive
Thursday- work, post in freewriters
Friday- work- read and comment on hive

#IAmAliveChallenge join us on Discord, and check out our Hive Community.
Made in Canva


rose7.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center