Freewrite Daily Writing Prompt Entry #3 (26 May, 2024): Brag About It


image.png

According to the Cambridge Dictionary, Brag means to speak with pride often with too much pride. A person can be proud of many things. It is not a crime to talk about those. But all should remember, there is a limit to everything!

If the thing you are bragging about is true and it is a good thing, then sure, it is okay! But it is not something that everyone likes. So, one should be careful when doing it.

"Bragging is not an attractive trait, but let's be honest. A man who catches a big fish doesn't go home through an alley." - Ann Landers

Giving yourself the credit for something you did for the betterment of yourself or others is okay. Or, if you have said about it earlier and later was able to do it, that would make you rise among those even more, as you have achieved what you said you would.

"It's not bragging if you can back it up." - Muhammad Ali


Okay, now lets see, what are the things I can brag about.

"Perhaps the less we have, the more we are required to brag." - John Steinbeck


image.png

I can definitely brag about obtaining a prize from the honorable prime minister of my country for gaining the first position in a nationwide competition. (Too lazy to find the picture to attach here now 🥲) It would not be a brag as I have done it right? Well it is not something to brag about, these kind of competitons happens every year I was just a lucky fellow to won it that year!

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." - Walt Whitman

I can also brag about getting the ICT Scholarship provided by the ICT Ministry of my country. But same thing, many people get it every year and I was among them one time. Although, saying these would not mean I am lying. The list could go on and on (literaly)!

"There is no such thing as bragging. You're either lying or telling the truth." - Curt Flood

Well, those are the things of the past. Now I am almost everyday in emotional turmoil. The age for getting a government job is coming near. I have attended many job exams (and did not also in many) which if counted can go well around 100! But still have no luck on landing my first job. Sure I could grab any position at any software firm, but my parents want a government job, so those are not any option. I have failed 6 times in a row to the most prestigious Civil Service exam of my country. So, yes I can brag about not getting any job (it is painful though)!

"If I cannot brag of knowing something, then I brag of not knowing it; at any rate, brag." - Ralph Waldo Emerson

That's all for today, folks! It's time to say good bye for today!


All images are generated using AI 

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center