A Picture is Worth A Thousand Words

For the prompt picture I wrote a short poem, free verse. It's about the sea that shows itself in its true form, twisted and dark. At first the viewer gets scared but soon is mesmerized by its presence.

I found freestyle style to be the most fun because of lack of rules or rhymes.

https://pixabay.com/nl/photos/zee-kust-golven-kustlijn-540123/

At the rocky shore, I stand alone,
Where waves crash and seagulls moan.
The sky of deep and eerie hue,
The world was cast in hues of gold.

I hear the whispers of the wind,
Carrying secrets and dreams that bend,
Of memories that haunt the heart,
I stand and gaze, lost in reverie.

My mind distressed, my thoughts grown old.
A place where dreams come to die,
Where memories fade and souls do roam,
Where the waves crash and the winds roar.

This shore where I stand all alone.
The sea and sky, a mesmerizing mix
Of purple hues and salty sprays
But as I gaze, I see a sight,
That chills me to the bone.

A ghostly figure, shrouded in mist,
Appears before me, I cannot resist
Its eyes, so dark, its form, so twisted,
A warning from beyond, I cannot miss.

It speaks in a voice of whisper,
Of secrets long buried, it seeks
And as I stand, my heart begins to quiver,
The shore a place of terror, of rebirth.

I turned to flee,
My feet won't move,
I'm trapped, caught in a spell, I cannot groove,
The ghostly figure comes to me.
It tells me tales of lost souls and pain.

Of loves that have withered,
Of dreams that have drained,
And as I listen, I feel my heart restrain,
The shore a place of sorrow, of death, a bane,

The sea, it called to me, it seemed,
Its voice a haunting, sorrowed dream.
And yet I stood and watched, entranced,
By this wild beauty, this great dance.

It let me stand, this lonely soul,
Beneath the purple sky at dusk,
And ponder all that I don't know,
Of life, of love, of death, of husk.

That lonely soul, I understood,
That it was part of all I viewed.
And though I felt so all alone,
I was not lost, nor on my own.

The sky, it called, the sea, it sang,
I sat and lived.

Thank you for the read.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now