No one is a saint

We make different things out of a situation

img_0.9338801274618428.jpg

Recently, it was a Saturday in the morning. A lady ran through a street. You know typical lagosians will always want to create scene(s) from situation. Everyone was already out I could hear two women calling other older women as if the call was to save them from dangerous situations. I peeped to see people moving in haste and I had to move out as well. What attracted them all out or what scene was created out of was a lady. Well! Let me say she was without cloth or to say, the only cloth on her was a robe (ìró/rapper as it can either be called), not new one anyway. She didnt look like a mad woman. I could hear her rendering this in Yoruba as she moved, Im not mad, it is my mother I want to save. How she had wanted to save her mother, I didnt know.

Some people claimed she may be a kidnapper pretending. We equally heard some people saying she was a victim of certain Yahoo boys. They said she had escaped from a hotel around. I could see that no one was ready to take pity on her. Among the crowd were the okada (motorcycle) riders whose motorcycles were parked to see the scene. As the pretty lady continued moving, one of them, a union leader, moved closer to her and took her on his bike.

The Okada man that picked her, to what end! Well, in terrible situations, there may still be a preferable choice. Im not a party to evil but to people who condemned her in various ways, are they free of evil? Like a situation in a time past when a thief was caught. The thief enjoyed being battered and condemned by the crowd as I watched from a near distance. I could not remember how toddler found his way to the scene with his fathers watch. He was picked but the wristwatch was already missing. Then, who stole the wristwatch?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center