Stavros, a Freewrite

-6713797454978242652.jpg

A freedom fighter broke a bottle of ouzo in my basement today. Now my whole house smells of anise, which is kind of nice. I do not care for ouzo, but I bought a house with several bottles of the stuff in the basement. One of the bottles was of a Greek soldier. I gave this bottle to my brother, George, and he named it Stavros. I don't know why Stavros came to his mind. We have lots of other Greek names in the family, and tend to name our dogs after male members. We've had a couple of dachshunds named Jimmy and George. Demetrius, and I don't remember what the Greek version of George is, but I came across it a few days ago in some papers that had been left in the house, along with Stavros the Bottle of Ouzo. These papers had something to do with my grandfather, George, and my uncle, Steve, opening a candy store and soda fountain long long ago in this one-horse town.

I've had dogs named Eleftheria (liberty), Christoyenia (born on Xmas), and Prismentha (Peppermint). I just got a puppy and named her Hazel. I love dogs and chocolate, but ouzo not so much.

I learned how to make chocolates and other candies from my Uncle Steve in the basement where the bottle of ouzo broke today. In the basement of the house I bought just a few months ago. It's funny how things turn out.

True story. Thank you for reading it.

image.png

This is my entry to @mariannewest's daily freewrite challenge. Today's prompt is freedom fighter.

The image is mine.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center