Martini Time, a Freewrite

image.png

text16.png

Have you ever wondered who on earth buys all those tiny airplane bottles of booze? I am one, so let me tell you how I got that way.

For a great many years, decades really, I did not drink much alcohol at all. I could go months without a drink. But I come from a family of alcoholics, and visiting my family-of-origin meant I would be drinking. A lot.

My drink of choice back then was gin and tonic. I don't know why. I think I liked saying gin and tonic, because I didn't really like the taste, but I sure could not drink the pre-dinner martinis my family members drank (yuck), or the boxed wine they had with dinner (double yuck), or the cheap beer on tap they drank after dinner, by the pitchers full, at the lakeside campfires (triple yuck). It was non-stop drinking for those visits home.

As life got more and more complicated, I started using more. For a long time it was only when I went out for dinner with friends. Green tea with sushi gave way to a lemon drop martini with sushi.

During covid confinements, I started drinking every night. As an alcoholic, I couldn't always keep it to just one, which would lead to sleepless, nauseous nights.

I didn't want to stop altogether - the bottle was my social life! So my solution has been to buy two tiny bottles of vodka every day. I do not keep more than those two tiny bottles in my house at any time.

Ten o'clock is generally lemon martini time at my house now. One and only one before bed. But boy oh boy do I look forward to ten o'clock.

image.png

This is my entry to @mariannewest's daily freewrite challenge. Today's prompt is What happens at ten.

text16.png

Notice for Newbies on Hive

Real people read your posts in this community! There are no rules!!! A post doesn't suck up your entire day!!!! You can safely let your imagination take flight! You will feel the love!

Try to remember to leave a link under @mariannewest's daily post (she often generously upvotes those!!!). That will help us find you. The easiest way to find the daily prompt is to go directly to @mariannewest's blog. Here is today's post.

To maximize readership, you might also post in the Freewriters Community (or @hive-161155), use a first tag of #freewrite or #freewritepoetry, go leave comments on others' freewrites, or any combination of those.

We are good people, it's a no judgment zone, and is an excellent community to get your feet wet on Hive.

text16.png

image

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
30 Comments
Ecency