freewritehouse a picture is worth a thousand words #pic1000

image.png

what I see
A rabbits body but it has a birds head, maybe a hawks also a hawks eye
Feathers are around its neck
It has rabbit ears
Looks to be on the edge of a swamp
There is a low growing weed
Some taller looking grass and small trees

what I feel
The poor critter seems to be confused, does it want to hop or fly?
I feel like it can see better than a plain old rabbit
It can hear better than a hawk

My story
When I was just a little bunny, I was the runt and not the happiest of bunnies. I would sit by the swamp and watch all of the birds. The ospreys would come out of nowhere and swoop down to the water and snatch up a fish. The great blue herons could step so lightly that they could sneak up on the fish. The rosette spoonbills are eating small crabs and clams.

Here I am, just a rabbit, I eat grass, plain old grass, I want to eat something different. If only I could be a bird. This dream stayed with me my entire life, year after year as I grew bigger and older I wished to be a bird.

One day I was hopping around the swamp and came across a dead hawk. Some other animals had eaten most of it but the head was there. I stuck my head in his. This was a huge mistake, it stunk, but it was too late. As hard as I tried, I could not get it off. How was I going to show my face to the other rabbits, they will all laugh at me.

It was getting late and I had to go home. I knew that my family was going to ridicule me but I had no choice, if I stayed out at night something would eat me. At first, they all ran from me, until they saw it was me. The elder rabbits scolded me but the younger rabbits thought that I was cool, they all wished that they were me. I was filled with a sense of pride that I had never felt, finally, I was a bad-ass rabbit and others wanted to be me. I bet even the birds wished that they could be a rabbit with a hawk's face.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center