5 minute freewrite Sunday prompt standing in silence

storm 4-16 -23 tornado Inlet pic in Vero.jpg Someone posted this picture of a storm we had a few hours ago https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=286685247015981&set=gm.3360927487453839&idorvanity=1771280869751850
This is my post for #freewriters Sunday prompt standing in silence hosted by @mariannewest

The above picture was taken 20 miles south of me, when this storm made it to my town we received a warning saying we were under a tornado warning, one was spotted on radar 5 miles from my house.

image.png
We lost power around 4 o'clock, they said it should be back on by 10:30 but it came back on close to 9. I dug out old faithful, aka, the hurricane lamp. This lamp has weathered many storms with my family. When the kids were young and we lost power, I would bring out this lamp and the jar of change. I played poker with the kids, it is one of my fondest memories.

It never ceases to amaze me when the power goes out, how quiet everything is, it is like time is standing in silence. Sitting here with no power made me think how it would be if I lived off grid.

I would be fine with everything without power, except my heating pad. It makes my back feel so much better. I could learn to live without it but I do not want to do that.

Standing in silence
The weatherman said it is near
Standing in silence
The wind is a swirl
Standing in silence
Now the rain
Standing in silence
Our breath is held
Standing in silence
I hear the roar
Standing in silence
Is this it?
Standing in silence

lamp photo is mine

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center