5 minute freewrite 2509 prompt family album

image.png
This is my post for #freewriters 2509 prompt family album hosted by @mariannewest

When we were having wind gusts of over 40 miles per hour from the hurricane in the Gulf, I did not want my pineapples to break off of their stems so I braced it and they survived. I braced the almost 9 pound one that I grew last February but it still blew over and broke off, that was from a normal thunderstorm.

image.png
We had to put a stake under this batch of bananas and tie it to each side of the fence. We have two other stalks besides this one and have been picking ripe bananas from each one every day.

image.png
Yesterday I spotted this rack. I have also been reading about how to cook green bananas, I heard people talking about how good they are boiled, they say they are like mashed potatoes, you put a little butter on them.

image.png

You wash them and with the skin on and make a small cut on each end, cut about halfway through it and then barely break the skin with a slit from top to bottom, this will help with peeling,

image.png

you then put them in boiling water and boil for 20 minutes, drain the water from them and let them cool enough to peel, mash, add butter, and eat. As you can see, I might have made my slit too deep.

image.png
I thought they must be done so I took the peeling off and tried to mash them. I got some of it smashed but other parts were still too hard. They did have the taste of potatoes, hard undercooked potatoes.

I think this would be good to eat, but it needs to be cooked longer. Maybe this happened because these are what we call horse bananas, they are shorter and thicker than regular bananas.
image.png
This photo is for the family album. With all of the rain we have been having, the bananas have started to split, if we leave them on the plant, they will attract bugs, so we have to take them down before the bugs find them, they will ripen but won't be as sweet as if we left them to ripen on their own. He hung the stalk in the mango tree, I told him someone would think we had a mango that grows bananas.
photos are mine

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now