5 minute freewrite 2213 prompt panel of light

image.png
This is my post for #freewriters 2213 prompt panel of light hosted by @mariannewest and @daily.prompt

I did not care to see or even go into the Lizzie Bordon house but it was one of the things that my daughter really wanted to do so I went with her. I think they should not be making money off of the terrible things she did but hearing to whole story while in the house was very interesting.

image.png
This is one of 3 sets of stairs in the house, the other two are not this nice and they are very narrow, they go to the attic where their maid lived and the other to the basement.

image.png
The man in the corner with the hat and cane was the guide, he told how they had money but when electricity and water were being put in homes, he would have nothing of it and how Lizzie wanted to move where all the other rich people lived and he would not move.

image.png

He was telling us how Lizzie told the police that she was in the barn getting sinkers to go fishing with. He looks at me and says, when is the last time you went fishing, like women don't fish. I looked back at him and said I am a commercial fisherman. He looked shocked and said, "for real".

image.png

He took us to the basement to a small room, with him and 20 other people in it, I decided to stand in the doorway with a couple of other people
image.png
He was finished telling the story and people were asking questions so I walked around. I did not get a picture of the place I was standing but it was on the other end of this wall. As I stood in one spot, I could feel the house move. I stepped one step back and it stopped, I stepped back to the spot and felt it again. I asked my daughter to step there and she felt nothing. I did not want anything else to do with that spot and left it. Who knows if I had stepped in it one more time a panel of light could have opened up and swallowed me.

image.png
We went to Lizzie Bordon's grave and my daughter put a penny on it and repeated some saying about crossing a bridge of sticks. I am not sure what the meaning was.

photos were taken by me or my daughter

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center