Queen's Stalemate: Trapped

1_20211001_172736_0000.png

The first part...

I do so want to win this game of chess for my freedom if nothing else.

We have been at this game for three days now with no end in sight. I won the championship twice in college so I know what I am doing and Connor plays like a grandmaster.

As we played, our conversations became easy and smooth as we got to know one another. He has been nice to me since I revealed my condition to him though he was a little surprised. I think he's using this game as an avenue to make me relaxed and receptive to giving up info on my Ethan and his operations. I intrigue him a lot because I am determined not to lose the game and neither would he.

The guard who led me into the room pulls out a chair and I sit down. I look at Connor and ask, "Why? We have been at this game for three days now. I-I want to go home."

"As I said,'' his eyes locked on mine such that I can't look elsewhere, "until Ethan returns my $100 million tax-free and soon, you will keep playing with me. On second thought," he taps his index finger on his lips drawing my attention there.

I quickly pulled my eyes away back to his eyes. I wish I could be immune to his charm and good looks. He smiles knowingly. "Let me raise the stakes. If you checkmate me, I'll let you go."

Audible gasp. I find it hard to believe. He could be lying or it may be a trap. His intense stare shows he's gauging my reaction, how well I will use this leeway.

The wheels in my head are spinning fast. I have been held here for five days now, no word from Ethan yet. This seems like the only way to get us out of this jam. I say 'us' because I am not alone.

I cried all through the first night of my capture after revealing my pregnancy to Connor. I had to, not knowing how I would be treated by these brutal men. It hurts that I was unable to tell Ethan first. I was going to, the night I was taken…

Ethan and I attended his uncle's birthday party at his mansion. Being a singer, his uncle asked me to play the piano and entertain guests. I looked to Ethan for consent and he smiled proudly, giving me the go-ahead. I thought to surprise Ethan so I sang a love song I had composed for him while smiling and admiring his darkly handsome face.

He leaned on the bar counter, a glass of scotch in his hand and watched me declare my love for him in a song. His three-piece, grey suit fitted to his lean, muscular body gave him a perfect look like one of those GQ models.

When guests turned and looked at him, to see his reaction to the song, his look changed to one of shock which he quickly masked. He tossed his drink down his throat in one swallow and walked out of the room.

The room washed in silence and I was shocked by Ethan's reaction.

"That was beautiful," one of the guests said and several others agreed, probably to take the sting of awkwardness off. I smiled like everything was okay. "Um, excuse me, ladies and gentlemen. Let me see what Ethan is up to." I said, pulled up my silk dinner gown a little and walked out onto the balcony where I found Ethan. He stood, watching the lights around the city as a cool breeze blew.

"Babe," I whispered, placing a hand lightly on his back. He scowled at me. "What were you thinking singing that song in front of my uncle and business associates?"

"Um, I was expressing how I feel about you. I love…"

"Stop!" Then he lowered his voice not to draw attention and spoke through gritted teeth. "You blindsided me."

I must have looked shocked and hurt because he cursed under his breath and turned to walk back inside. "Let's go home," he growled.

The ride home was a quiet one. Our bodyguards rode in another car in front of us. I was alone with my thoughts, hurt from the rejection. Usually, Ethan would hold the steering wheel with one hand and hold my hand with the other or place his hand on my thigh whenever he drove. He did neither that night.

Suddenly, we came upon a fuel tanker that had broken down in the middle of the road. Ethan cursed, slowed down and tried to turn around when masked men armed with heavy ammunition appeared and descended on us. It was a trap. An unexpected one.

"Stay down!" Ethan instructed me. He pulled out his gun, opened his side door and crouched down using it as a shield just as our bodyguards engaged the masked men in a gunfight.

Gunshots and bullets were flying around that night....

The next part...

Image source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency