Queen's Stalemate: Attraction

1_20211002_211214_0000.png

The first part...
The second part...

I shrieked and crouched on the floor of the car at the slicing sound of a bullet flying past me. Ethan and our bodyguards pulled out their guns and exchanged fire with the masked men. In the commotion, my bodyguard was shot and I was roughly pulled out of the car and taken away.

I could see Ethan fighting his way through the commotion to get to me. I'd always admired Ethan for his bravery but I glimpsed fear in his eyes that night. He could not make it to me fast enough as the vehicle I was dragged into drove off with speed.

A white handkerchief was pressed against my mouth, I passed out and was brought to this estate. Connor knew he could get Ethan to do his bidding if he took me hostage….

Playing chess together for the past three days has somehow brought Connor and I closer. He's a clever mastermind, just like Ethan, working and increasing his family fortunes with every business he could lay his hands on and controlling every part of the country.

When I got to know the Castil family, I learned they made their fortune through legal and illegal means. Everything was passed down to Connor by his grandfather who brought him up after the Sinclairs, a notorious Mafia group, murdered his parents in cold blood. The Sinclairs had since been wiped out by the Castil family.

As we sit down to continue the game, I move my king piece to f7. He grins at me, flashing a nice set of white teeth, looking dangerously handsome. I think my pregnancy hormones are messing with me.

"Are we going to keep moving in circles?" he asks, staring at the board, planning his next move.

"I am not moving in circles. I'm movin' in for the kill or we will most likely end this game in a stalemate."

He stops for a moment. Probably considering what I just said. He picks up his rook piece, taps it on his nose while staring at me before placing it on f1.

"Well predicted, Eleanor. You have a good head on your shoulders and that's the reason you are Ethan's soft spot."

Then I remember how Ethan and I left things before I was taken. I feel the tears coming on. I shake my head and whisper, "You are mistaken." Connor arches an eyebrow in a quizzical stare, expecting me to expound on that statement. I glance down at the chessboard instead of looking into his eyes.

He may think I am Ethan's soft spot but the pain of the rejection is still fresh in my mind. If not for the positions we are both in, Connor and I could be good friends or more. He actually listens and gives me his full attention when we talk. I cannot explain how I feel about Connor but I think I like him. Or could this be an early onset sign of Stockholm syndrome?

Connor seems like a reasonable man with some empathy and not like the mean crime syndicate boss rumors make him out to be. Maybe he allows me a little freedom of eating with him and playing chess because I am pregnant but I am starting to look forward to our chess time together.

I see the way he looks at me which seems to pull at some feeling deep within me. I am afraid I may like him more or end up falling in love with him if I spend more time in his estate.

Ethan should have gotten in touch with Connor by now. Five days is too much time gone by. I have to win this game and hope Connor will stick to his word and let me go.

The next part...

Image source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency