Blockchain is the solution to free and fair elections.


Source

I stayed up till 4am on 7th June trying to put together an Essay.
The Essay competition was organised by the Akan Imoh innovatives and the price for the best essay is 35,000 naira
Now one of my friends had participated in an essay competition earlier this year and she was announced the winner on Monday and won 35k. It's not that I didn't hear of the competition but I didn't take it seriously. So seeing this friend of mine win so much, I was motivated to put my best into this essay.

Now the best part of everything is that I liked the topic. The topic was "Leveraging on Technology for strong and sustainable governmental institutions." I loved the topic because it was about technology and as a techwriter I just couldn't skip the offer.
I brainstormed and wrote a sterling essay on how blockchain technology could solve so many problems including Electoral malpractice and that's when it dawned on me.

Blockchain can actually solve all the electoral and rigging issues.
It is the way to free and fair elections.

This is really a matter to ponder on as my country Nigeria just concluded the General elections some months back and a man we believe rigged the election won and was sworn in on the 29th of last month.
The electoral Commission INEC employed the use of a machine called BVAS to make the election process electronic and tamper-proof yet it was even worse.
The machines were hacked.

But now it has dawned on me that if Nigeria and other countries in the world could employ the use of Blockchain technology for elections so that the results would be seamless, tamper-proof and the vote of every electorate would count.

Blockchain technology needs to be adopted in this countries because it's decentralized, secure and transparent.

I don't know much about development and the workings but I am sure that blockchain technology can lead us out of the mess we are in.

I just thought to share these thoughts and I hope to see our government begin this revolution in the next couple of years.

If you agree to this revolution let me know your thoughts in the comments.
Thank you for reading ☺️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center