Martha's goals- Story 🙋🏻‍♀️📚📝🥇🏆

My name is Martha, I am 29, almost 30 next month and although for me it is not very important and I even avoid it, my almanac and my parents have it very present.

If I tell you a little about myself, I don't think I have something that will fulfill your expectations, I was born and raised in Salamanca, one of the "best" neighborhoods in Madrid. Let's say that my family is an ordinary family adapted to its social class level. My father the district attorney and my mother his devoted and faithful wife, regent of the home and caretaker of all the movements in it. My brothers the pride of my community, always an outstanding sportsman and now the new lawyer defending noble causes. The beautiful Marie, a doctor for two years at Unicef in Nigeria.

But yes, we are here to talk about me, the eldest of the family. My life has always been full of dreams and goals, goals of being a doctor, one day a lawyer, the next day in the military, even owning my own business! Every day in that eternal struggle to please others, to live the EXACT dreams and goals of others.

Nobody asked me if I liked puppies, if I wanted to be an artist or go to NASA, none of that. I only heard my parents at meetings: the future owner of the best restaurant or best dealership in the region, and I was like, is that with me?

girl-2771936_960_720.jpg
Source

Mi nombre es Martha, tengo 29 casi 30 por el mes que viene y aunque para mi no es muy importante y hasta lo evito, ya mi almanaque y mis padres, lo tienen muy presente.

Si les hablo un poco de mí, no creo que tenga algo que llene sus expectativas, nací y crecí en Salamanca, uno de los "mejores "barrios de Madrid. Digamos que mi familia es una familia común y corriente adaptado a su nivel de clase social. Mi padre fiscal del distrito y mi madre su abnegada y fiel esposa, regente del hogar y cuidadora de todos los movimientos en él. Mis hermanos el orgullo de mi comunidad, siempre un deportista destacado y ahora el nuevo abogado defensor de las causas nobles. La bella Marie, doctora desde hace dos años en la Unicef de Nigeria.

Pero sí, venimos a hablar de mí, la mayor de la familia. Mi vida siempre ha sido llena sueños y metas, metas de ser doctora, un dia abogado, al otro día militar ¡Hasta dueña de mi propio negocio! Todos los días en esa eterna lucha de complacer a los demás, vivir los sueños y metas EXACTAMENTE de los demás.

Nadie me pregunto si me gustaban los perritos, si quería ser artista o ir a la NASA, nada de eso. Solo oía a mis padres en las reuniones: la futura dueña del mejor restaurante o mejor concesionario de la región, y yo como que ¿Es conmigo?

At the beginning, when I was a child I think I did not mind, it felt very nice to be taken into account in that way, but deep down, deep down I knew that something was wrong because no matter how hard I tried I was not the best in math classes, a necessary condition for business; It was hard for me to wake up very early, imagine what it would be like to be in the military, someone who has a hard time with schedules; and yes, a defender of causes that seem so unjust as that the parents force us to greet the uncles who hug us more than necessary, but we don't talk about it, how would I be a lawyer like that?

With this background, you will already know that my adolescence and entry into my adulthood was not at all the most desirable for anyone, including me because why were they all in one? Why put in me their dreams? Did anyone ask me if I wanted to spend every day of my life doing the same thing? Those topics were not touched, I just had to fulfill dreams and goals, of others.

My grades were not the best, I fell into a kind of lethargy, opposition, anger, confrontation, in short, I was unhappy and made others unhappy.

Al principio, cuando era niña creo que no me importaba, es mas se sentía muy lindo ser tomada en cuenta de esa forma, pero en el fondo, muy en mi fondo sabía que algo pasaba porque por mas que me esforzaba no era la mejor en la clases de matemáticas, condición necesaria para los negocios; me costaba despertar muy temprano, imagine como sería militar alguien que le cuestan los horarios; y eso sí, defensora de las causas que parecen tan injustas como que los padres obliguen a saludar a los tíos que nos abrazan mas de la cuenta, pero que de eso no se habla ¿Cómo sería abogada así?

Con este historial, ya sabrán que mi adolescencia y entrada a mi adultez no fue para nada la más deseada para nadie, incluyendome porque ¿Por qué no fueron ellos todo en uno? ¿Por qué poner en mí sus sueños? ¿Alguien me preguntó si quería pasar todos los días de mi vida haciendo lo mismo? Esos temas no se tocaban, solo tenía que cumplir sueños y metas, de los demás.

Mis notas no fueron las mejores, caí en una especie de letargo, oposición, ira, enfrentamiento, en fin, no era feliz y hacía infeliz a los demás.

How did I get out of it all?

One day, being already in the second year of Law (because they managed to get me into the faculty), my teacher was talking about canon law and saints, and laws, and a little bit of things that I just looked at my watch to disappear running from the class to see my little plants, since I had found an indescribable passion in them and had made them grow in weather conditions very different from their usual ones.

As I gathered my things, the teacher called me in and asked me if there was anything I was worried about. Of course I denied that question, but she very subtly brought out my words wrapped in tears, about everything that was going on with me.

After a long silence she said to me:

"The key to a happy life is to achieve goals that you are proud of and to always have a purpose to fulfill."

Jeff Lindsay

And then he asked me:

Are you happy with what you do?

I answered from my heart and honesty: No. I am not.

It was liberating and opened my eyes to the reality I was living. I hugged her, finished gathering my things and for two days I was locked in my room, looking for the information I needed to start my goal. Then I talked to my parents:

"Daddy, Mommy, I love you with my heart, but I'm not happy. I shouldn't apologize for not meeting your expectations, but it's not what I want in my life. I want other things and I would love for you to be part of my goals. I will still be your daughter, but I will be happy and complete with what I want in my life.

people-1086110_960_720.jpg
Source

¿Cómo salí de todo aquello?
Cierto día, estando ya en el segundo año de Derecho (porque lograron que entrará a la facultad), mi profesora estaba hablando sobre derecho canónico y los santos, y las leyes, y un poco de cosas que yo solo miraba mi reloj para desaparecer corriendo de la clase a ver mis plantitas, ya que en ellas había encontrado una pasión indescriptible y de alguna había hecho crecer en condiciones climatologicas muy distintas a sus habituales.

Al recoger mis cosas, la profesora me llamó y me preguntó si había algo que me preocupara. Por supuesto negué aquella pregunta, pero ella muy sutilmente sacó mis palabras envueltas en llanto, sobre todo lo que pasaba conmigo.

Después de un largo silencio me dijo:
"La clave de una vida feliz es alcanzar metas de las que te sientas orgulloso y tener siempre un propósito que cumplir".
Jeff Lindsay.

Y después me preguntó:
¿Eres feliz con lo que haces?
Le contesté desde mi corazón y honestidad: No.
Fue algo liberador y me abrió los ojos antes la realidad que estaba viviendo. La abracé, terminé de recoger mis cosas y por dos días estuve encerrada en mi habitación, buscando la información que necesitaba para iniciar mi meta. Luego hablé con mis padres:

"Padre, madre, los amo con mi corazón, pero no soy feliz. No debo disculparme por no cumplir sus expectativas, pero no es lo que quiero en mi vida. Yo deseo otras cosas y me encantaría que ustedes formarán parte de mis metas. Yo igual seguiré siendo su hija, pero siendo feliz y completa con lo que quiero en mi vida".

Today, I study Botany at Ohio Wesleyan University and my "invention" has served as the basis for research I am developing for my thesis.

My parents visit me or I do and they proudly say "My daughter the future botanist" and even take care of the little plant I gave them, calling me for any "symptom" I have 😂🤣😂

To people who feel they are doing something they don't like, I recommend you to follow your inner voice because sooner or later that voice will be so overwhelming that you may fall into frustration. Will you hurt people because of your decisions? Some will feel hurt, but by using the right words you can find allies and lastly, understand that our goals and happiness is not negotiable, many times we don't realize it but we also have to listen to those signals we have to reach them.

Goals are not easy but possible, you just have to know your potential and use them to your advantage.

Hoping that my life story has been to your liking and inspiring, I bid you farewell,

Martha.

P.S. To all the Marthas who dared and continue daring.

Hoy en día, estudio Botánica la Ohio Wesleyan University y mi "invento" ha servido de base para investigaciones que estoy desarrollando para mi tesis.

Mis padres me visitan o yo lo hago y dicen con orgullo "Mi hija la futura botánica" y hasta cuidan la plantita que les regalé, llamandome por cualquier "síntoma" que tenga je, je.

A las personas que sienten que hacen algo que no les gusta, les recomiendo que sigan su voz interior porque tarde o temprano esa voz será tan abrumadora que puedes caer en frustración ¿Dañarás a las personas por tus decisiones? Algunas se sentirán heridas, pero usando las palabras correctas puedes encontrar aliados y por último, entender que nuestras metas y felicidad no es negociable, muchas veces no nos damos cuenta pero también tenemos que escuchar esas señales que tenemos para alcanzarlas.

Las metas no son fáciles pero si posibles, sólo debes conocer tus potencialidades y usarlas a tu favor.

Esperando que haya sido de su agrado e inspirador mi historia de vida, se despide de ustedes,
Martha.
P.D. Por todas las Marthas que se atrevieron y siguen atreviéndose.

untitled.gif
GIF Hive

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center