General Goals Do Not Serve You!

1000059839.jpg

Source

How many of us have said: "I want to be rich" or "I want to be fit" but, the only problem that there isn't a deadline, neither a specific goal. That's not the kind of goal you can take steps toward, neither you can measure your progress with.

It was Jim Rohn who highlighted this principle, and by doing some reflecting on my life, I've figured out how that this kind of general goals has never served me well.

A specific goal can sound like: I want to lose 2 kilograms every month for 12 months, or I want to increase my income by 20% every year, etc.

It must be specific, because if it's not you'll never be able to measure your progress neither take reasonable steps toward. It has to be reasonable, which is a mistake we often make; to try to achieve an unreasonable goal, like mastering Spanish in 2 months for instance.

It must have a deadline, because if it doesn't it will be just a thought on hold, a thought that you do nothing about but postpone.

But, the most important thing is for this goal to have a purpose, which is a precious element than we all lack.

When you say to yourself: I want to be rich, have you ever asked yourself why? That's a super important question that I'm not sure if you have an answer for.

Why do you want to be rich? Is it a reason worthy of effort and time? If you say for example: I want to be rich to own a Ferrari, do you believe this is a goal that would encourage you to do whatever it takes to achieve?

Now, compare it with another why that sounds like: I want to be wealthy to provide for my family and secure their future. Now, that's an arguably stronger why and purpose.

This made me question my goals, which is crucial to achieve any and prioritize your goals as well. If my time and energy are limited, than I'd rather invest them into a strong purpose, that has to do with my family or building a legacy.

You need to have a specific goal, with a deadline, and a strong why; a purpose.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center