Mr. Bonkers goes biking

20221225_185634 (2).jpg



When I first found out my nephew, Mr. Bonkers, was coming down here to spend Christmas with me my mind immediately turned to the cool stuff we'd be doing together and whilst I left plenty of time just to hang out, I've found that hangout-relaxation time hasn't happened...he's energetic, that's for sure. I'm not quite worn out yet, but I'm getting there.

My nephew loves riding his bike so I decided to get one for him so he could ride around here too.

I got a second hand bike, a cheap one, because it would only get used for a couple of weeks whilst my nephew is here. I spent some time getting it into top-notch shape including the brakes, fixing a puncture, removing the buckled kick-stand, a massive clean up then a light oiling of the chain. In no time, it was good to go...All that was left to bring it all together was the pilot - My nephew.

We did the whole Santa thing including leaving biscuits and whiskey for Santa and carrots and water for the reindeers on Christmas Eve. After he went to bed I put all the presents out and the bike was left just outside the door to my outside entertaining area with a huge bow on it. The next morning he opened his presents and then I suggested he looked outside and that's when things got really bonkers - He saw that bike.

Needless to say, he loved the bike and has ridden it each day. My house is surrounded by parks and playgrounds including a bike track to we've been exploring the area by bike and he's having a great time with it.

When I was a kid I didn't have the luxury of getting new things all the time; my parents just couldn't afford it.

Looking back, I don't recall ever being disgruntled or sad about it though, nor do I have a hang-up about not having had this or that as a kid; it's just how things were. What's really cool about my nephew is that he's exactly the same. He didn't once question why there were a few scratches on the bike, he just rode it and had fun. Sure, I wanted to get him a new bike and have worked hard to put myself into a position of being able to buy him one...or one hundred of them to be honest...but why do so when a cheap second hand one does the job and it was only getting used for a short time?

We have had so much fun together that little bonkers kid and I, including riding bikes, and it hasn't made any difference whatsoever that his bike was second-hand...the fun is the same as it would have been if I'd bought a new one. When he goes home he'll not take it on the plane; I'll donate it to charity and maybe someone else can get some fun out of it.

Have you ever had second-hand toys or things as a kid and did you ever mind they weren't new? Tell me in the comments below if you would like to.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default; tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind - galenkp

Any images in this post are my own

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now