Dino Diary #2 - Hypersensitivosaurus meets Hermit the Crab

img_0.41854240062886006

Hypersensitivosaurus finally got to meet Hermit the Crab and they really 'hit it off'.

In fact, Hermit the Crab tried to hit your favorite raptor off the mountain top.

He swung his gigantic crab paws around with some serious speed, snapping his claws with a scary sound
that caused an even scarier echo, that almost led to an avalanche

Was Hermit merely protecting his territory or was there more going on?

If you knew the fellow a little better, you would know that he was, in fact, a peaceful soul but - being a huge introvert - he needed to be very selective in whom he'd permit to enter his energy field, and this giant lizard looked a little hyper.

Hermit just wasn't sure whether he could handle that energy on a day like today.

So, he acted tough.

Hypersensitivosaurus didn't really have a chance. His tiny raptor arms were a joke and although his flying kick wasn't to be sniffed at ( as depicted in Fresh Fish ), he didn't really like to fight, unless he had no other choice.

He just wanted to meet new people animals and make friends.

It sure seemed like the giant hermit crab, on top of this mountain, had other ideas.

What to do next?
Approach the Crazy Crab or try again some other day?

TO BE CONVINUED... ( some day )


I worked on this lino, in the last week or so, whenever I could manage to not be too distracted by the heatwave, crypto market or you name it ;^)

I really struggled with carving out this crab. I guess there were too many details and my lino pieces are pretty small. I still like the result that I eventually managed to get though. The photo depicted isn't the final print but it comes pretty close.

It's based on this drawing that I made in the Summer or Autumn of 2020:

img_0.4179802676727636

and the story and character are based on me ( and, as per usual, exaggerated ).

The character of Hermit came to me, when I was still trying to live in a house, 700 meters above sea level, in a tiny Portugese villaged called 'Monte Frio' ( Cold Mountain )
but I wasn't feeling it any longer.

I felt too much like a Hermit out there and what the virus did to the already dying town was too much for me.

I had to move on and find myself a new shell.

A little story attached to it, can be read in my upcoming book.

The story starting out this write up, came to me, just now. I might actually like it more than the story in my book don't tell anyone or meet my flying kick

;^)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center