My 8 bit pixel art :: making a game in BASIC computer language


Back in the 90's [all of them]
I was practising my coding skills on 8 bit computers.
My first one in the early years I've was Pravetz 8D ~ a famous Bulgarian brand/ factory and it's home type PC ~ connected to a TV and a deck/ tape drive for loading/ saving programs/ software.
There were colors too.

In this presentation I refer to my second 8bit PC. A German one.

Learning Basic Programming Language back in the 90's on my Schneider CPC6128
This was my second working game, where I practiced pixel images, variables, code logic etc...

The images for these were created by converting the characters from the keyboard to a #pixelart graphics.
Then you just combine & arraange them to get your picture :)
Moving them was another story...

However a lot of interesting stuff was possible on those machines! ;)

there you go!

sounds were also produced just by pure code...

my computer's floppy disc drive was not functional...
so i open it up & change its belt with a basic rubber band!!!
& it worked! with some loading errors :)

hope you have fun too!

& excuse me for the lower video quality!
used my old tabled in a dark room for this...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center