My DIY Chess | Zine

ATASMEJA ZINE

H1.jpg

Hello everyone, I would like to show off my DIY chess packaged in the form of a zine, initially it was just for fun because I wanted to play chess but didn't have the funds to buy it ๐Ÿ˜‚ so I just made it with more affordable paper and had fun making characters per piece. Of course this brought me a lot of fun and an interesting experience where I made my own board game and it was in the form of a zine which I also enjoyed developing, and this is the beginning of several other games, I hope to make a game with its own mechanics later and I know there is still a lot I need to learn in order to make a board game with everything myself, it's cool and very cool to me, hehe...

this zine contains 12 pages, the contents of which are of course the chessboard on the center page, the pieces and some reading. coincidentally, the one I just printed is in Indonesian, it does not rule out the possibility that there will be an English version if anyone wants :) The first picture is a photo of the zine cover that I made, the name is "ATASMEJA" and on it there are pieces that I made their respective characters, the chess that I made is like two kingdoms fighting each other, namely the kingdom of shine and the kingdom of dark.

H2.jpg

The second picture is the first and second page of the zine, where this is the intro page that tells how I can make this zine, here is approximately:

A zine that can be played, besides being played it can also be read, taken home or thrown away is also up to you, but not lah!
That's why the name is Above the Table Let's Play Zine, it doesn't have to be on the table either, you can also play it on the stone on the ground in the mud if you can. I think the Zine is free to do anything there, why don't I just play in the Zine if I can play it, it's good.
Actually, the name was inspired by "Tabletop" which in my mind is a Table-Top so yes "AtasMeja" is just the name plus "Main" because this can be played and then there is a Zine because I want this to also be called a Zine so the final is "AtasMeja MainZine", so this zine will have perEdition every game that I want to make a zine whether it's my own concept or an existing board game like Snakes and ladders or Monopoly, but Monopoly has a lot of components and it's not even called a zine, so what can fit in the zine is simple like playing SoS or XoX but it's not simple either, there are still supporting components to make it more exciting and the shape is flat so that it can be packaged with the zine and if the components disappear, it's not a big loss because it's just paper.
For this edition is about Chess, well I want to play chess with no one but don't have the money to buy the chess, not to mention that if I've bought it, the pawn is even lost and if it's gone, it's replaced with stones or if you are creative, use paper in the form of shapes, If I most often use cigarette paper because I smoke when playing chess so I just tear it up so I can play chess, but the pawn are all gone, making use of paper seems good too, so just make it using paper and print it at home, then sell it to people who want it, then open a business selling low budget games and get rich๐Ÿ˜‚. So as not to lose those who buy it, I made some reading for those who buy it, whether it's a wikipedia about the game you want to make a zine for people who are lazy to open google or read about the game being worked on. Just this is a game zine so you don't just play on your phone and then run out of battery!

H3.jpg

well, the picture above is the arena or chessboard, and it can be seen that the pieces have moved forward, now it's the dark side's turn!

H4.jpg

PIECES_1.jpg

PIECES_2.jpg

SKULL.png

The following is the result of a scanned image that I did using a drawingpen on paper :

IMG_0001.jpg

IMG_0002.jpg

IMG_0003.jpg

After everything was printed and cut out, then I bring this zine to the scene where I usually hang out with friends, I got a positive impression when I brought it there and they were so enthusiastic when playing it and we laughed together, hahaha ๐Ÿ˜„

WhatsApp Image 2024-03-17 at 20.59.42 (2).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-03-17 at 20.59.43.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-03-17 at 20.59.44.jpeg

I'm very happy with this project, it turns out that it's so fun to make my own game, I'm thinking what if everything feels new and unique to play with of course using my own artwork, especially after successfully playing and friends also feel happy, it must be a cool pleasure,.

I've actually wanted to make a game with my own mechanics for a long time, and some homemade board games that inspired me like the Chaos Galaxy TCG game which is similar to the yugioh game but with a scifi and space theme, what's interesting to me is that this is self-published and done at home, the artwork is cool on each card, how cool would it be if I could make a game like that. but it seems to be a very long journey ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

Thank you for taking the time to stop by and read my post๐Ÿ•ถ

SKULL.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments