Splinterlands Art Contest // Week 184 // Hero Of Beyond

Hero Of Beyond

Hello everyone! For this week's Art Contest, I would like to present my entry - Hero Of Beyond, a character from another universe. Based on his lore, the Hero of Beyond was created as a collaboration with Blockchain Heroes, an ongoing set of collectible trading cards. You can check the complete lore here - Hero Of Beyond.

For this entry, the Hero Of Beyond just came out from another universe thru a portal. With his glowing eyes, he immediately rushed to the battle to help Khymeria fight evil and darkness.

I used IbisPaint X to create this entry and the following will discuss the references and steps to create this entry.

References

Pinterest Link

On the left is the card reference of Hero of Beyond from Splinterlands. And on the right is Superman which is my reference on how flying should look like instead of just floating.

Rough Sketches

Step 1Step 2

I first created a rough sketch of the character. I would like to show the character flying from a portal. In Step 2, I added the face of the character and to show where he is looking.


Step 3Step 4

In Step 3, I removed the circle on his head and tried to reposition the image on my canvas. In Step 4, I created a clearer outline and erased unnecessary sketches.


Applying Color

Step 1Step 2

For the base color, I tried to mimic the base color of the card. I started from the face, then the hair, clothes and finally the cape. In Step 2, I added shades on the face and tried adding the eyes.


Step 3Step 4

Here in Step 3, I added a glowing effect on his eyes and in Step 4, I started applying shades on his clothes and hair.


Step 5Step 6

In Step 5, I applied shades on the rest of his clothes and in Step 6, I added more information on his abs, capes and decided to blur the blue shades on his cape.


Creating Background

For the back ground, I tried using the color orange but after adding some clouds, it looks like Splinterlands already fell into the hand of evil. So to bring hope, I changed the color to blue. :)


For the portal, I tried a single color but I felt that something is odd and I need a portal that came from another universe. So on the next image, I combined neon colors spiraling from the black center.


In here, I added back the character to check what the image will look like. On the right, I added a blue light glowing from his eyes.


And here, on the left, I added a lightning effect coming from his eyes and added dark shades. I also added stars inside the portal. And on the right image, I removed again the dark shades and moved the lightning effect coming out from the portal. I also changed the brightness from his face to reflect the light from his eyes and change the size of Splinterlands logo. And lastly, I added lines coming from the portal to make it looks like he is flying so fast. :)

That's all for this blog and thank you for reading my post.
If you got interested in playing Splinterlands, here is my Game link - splintercell-01.
Visit @Splinterlands to view more amazing posts! And always keep on battling!!!


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center