"The MEEP is in the Pudding" by RFY (Holy Fool)

For your consideration:

xxxxxxxxxxxxx

20 Oct. 2023

xxxxxxxxxxxxx

I've been working on HALFASS zine #2, and as sad as it sounds, I'm spending way too much time on it! The whole point is to just HALF-ASS the thing, but I downloaded a new desktop publishing app (SCRIBUS) and it's taking a while to figure out how to get shit to work! (My brain takes serious hammering to get new information into it!) I was hoping to get #2 finished today, but it ain't gonna happen. Maybe tomorrow!!!

xxxxxxxxxxxxx

"Coffee Today? (Hypnotic Alien Mummy)" by Richard F. Yates (Holy Fool)

coffee today (hypnotic alien mummy).png

[Liner pen on notebook page with digital embellishments and color.] Actual photograph of an alien mummy that, surprisingly, OPENED IT'S EYES as the flash went off on my camera! Gasp!!! Now, we need to show congress!---Richard F. Yates (Holy Fool)

https://objkt.com/asset/KT1F94smAkoLSgNT7PLaxYj7Ba1SKqXfGjsY/631

xxxxxxxxxxxxx

21 Oct. 2023

xxxxxxxxxxxxx

Working on HALFASS #2 today! Much progress!!!

xxxxxxxxxxxxx

22 Oct. 2023

xxxxxxxxxxxxx

"HALFASS #2" by Richard F. Yates (Holy Fool)

halfass 2 (cover peg).jpg

Zine time once again!!! Travel issue! (Beware!) Includes a lovely #cc0 contribution from MxVoid!

---Richard F. Yates

Read or collect here:
https://objkt.com/asset/KT1F94smAkoLSgNT7PLaxYj7Ba1SKqXfGjsY/632

xxxxxxxxxxxxx

"Bug Zapper" by Richard F. Yates (Holy Fool)

bug zapper.png

[Liner pen and colored pencil on paper with digital embellishments and color.] I'm guessing this guy has walked into several hanging bug zappers... (Just a hunch...) ---Richard F. Yates (Holy Fool)

https://objkt.com/asset/KT1F94smAkoLSgNT7PLaxYj7Ba1SKqXfGjsY/633

xxxxxxxxxxxxx

"Empty Ghost" by Richard F. Yates (Holy Fool)

empty ghost.png

[Digital drawing created in a no-longer-supported, free app in my phone!] A ghost, but a ghost with no soul... Just... Just empty... (Ha! Ha! Ha!) ---Richard F. Yates (Holy Fool)

https://teia.art/objkt/837980

xxxxxxxxxxxxx

"In My Room" by Richard F. Yates (Holy Fool)

in my room.png

[Crayon, felt pen, and sticker collage on cardstock with digital embellishments and color.] Left alone with thoughts... ---Richard F. Yates (Holy Fool)

https://objkt.com/asset/KT1F94smAkoLSgNT7PLaxYj7Ba1SKqXfGjsY/634

xxxxxxxxxxxxx

23 Oct. 2023

xxxxxxxxxxxxx

"Autumn Surge" by Richard F. Yates (Holy Fool)

autumn surge.png

[Felt pen and sticker collage on foam paper with digital embellishments and color.] So much horror! And we want it ALL!!! (Ghosts and monsters and jack-o-lanterns and creatures of the night!!!) ---Richard F. Yates (Holy Fool)

https://zeroone.art/artwork/autumn-surge-by-richard-f-yates-holy-fool-3368

xxxxxxxxxxxxx

"Smokes and Zingers" by Richard F. Yates (Holy Fool)

smokes and zingers.jpg

[Digital photo of found "artwork!"] Dropping the grandkid off at school, I found this guerrilla art piece in the center of the road! SMOKES & ZINGERS! The true breakfast of champions??? ---Richard F. Yates (Holy Fool)

https://objkt.com/asset/KT1F94smAkoLSgNT7PLaxYj7Ba1SKqXfGjsY/635

xxxxxxxxxxxxx

"We Did?" by Richard F. Yates (Holy Fool)

we did.jpg

[Liner pen, gel pen, and sticker collage on notebook page with digital embellishments and minor color tweaking.] Memory is fragile, unclear, and temporary. Each time we RE-member something, the memory changes. The reality is fiction... ---Richard F. Yates (Holy Fool)

https://objkt.com/asset/KT1F94smAkoLSgNT7PLaxYj7Ba1SKqXfGjsY/636

xxxxxxxxxxxxx

24 Oct. 2023

xxxxxxxxxxxxx

words (24 oct. 2023).jpg

[Posted to Typed.art]:

Life is the overwhelming stuff. Life is also the calm stuff. Life is what you do and what you think and what you dream. Life is who you spend time with (so even constant enemies are LIFE. Choose your villains appropriately.) The swirling chaos moves thru time (in who knows how many directions), and we, as leaves caught in the vortex, are along for the ride. Do you put your hands up and surrender, or do you put your hands up and say "WEEEEEE!" Either way, your hands will probably be up. I make no judgment on your definition of "up."

So my older daughter has been sick, and my younger daughter now has covid, and I'm a taxi-man, and catching time to do anything lately has been like wrastling a slick pig; (I have never done this in "real life.") Still, in my pursuit of the magickal and funzy, I try to sneak a doodle or a scrap of story or a modified photograph in there somewhere. I even made a new ZINE (of the PDF variety) that I'm quite pleased with! If you wanna be a deary, you can give it a look. I don't THINK it's evil or poisonous, but I'm not making any legal promises at this time. Here's the link:

HALFASS #2 (PDF Collage Zine!)
https://objkt.com/asset/KT1F94smAkoLSgNT7PLaxYj7Ba1SKqXfGjsY/632

And I'm still notebooking and still hanging with the wife (my favorite of all the FOLK) and babysatting the grandkid and listening to music and reading LOTS of books and comics... Despite the negative, there is ALWAYS positive, if I take the time to search for it. And if it doesn't exist yet, there's nothing stopping me from MAKING the positive thing that I'm not finding... Just saying. Times are dark as we head into the COLD season, but I'm choosing to stay delusional and believe that there is PLEASANTNESS in the world, and as long as home-made caramel corn and T. Rex records still exist in this universe, few people will be able to convince me that GOOD is DEAD... HA! ---Richard F. Yates (Holy Fool)

https://typed.art/10357

xxxxxxxxxxxxx

'Nuff said...

---RFY (hf)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center