RE: RE: Generative Concept Art - Prompt 02g
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Generative Concept Art - Prompt 02g

RE: Generative Concept Art - Prompt 02g

I didn't mean to suggest you, as a human, are lazy. The approach at times appears lazy. And often what happens is folks find themselves in a comfort zone, knowing the autovotes will roll in regardless of effort, and sometimes think not many will look anyway, so their efforts become bland. It would take me ten minutes or less to crop a few images from a larger image and share that without saying anything. Yes, the original artwork took awhile to produce but the post itself did not.

I know we're not all the same but if I was taking your approach, highlighting finer details, I'd be writing something about those details and guiding the viewer with words, so they can not only connect with the art, but the artist as well. Think of it like a shop or gallery. You wouldn't just let someone walk in, and not want to say anything to them. But I'm not here to tell you how to run your business.

For me I see a huge difference between earning and farming. I'm not trying to farm rewards when I go around upvoting posts. What I'm doing is enjoying some entertainment of some kind, and being paid to do so, while offering someone a tip at the same time. If I attempt to write humor, am I 'farming' laughs? If I create some art am I 'farming' views? No. The laughs and views would be achievements and receiving them is something I'm not in control of. That's the same with the support. I'm not in control of how much comes in. It's not farming, it's earning. An artist can't farm a million views for a music video on Youtube. They did something and earned the result.

I also can't stand that attitude some have where they assume others find success by kissing ass. If you think that's what it takes, I dare you to go try it. Most of the folks I do see trying to suck up just get ignored. You're also insulting the integrity of all these folks or the people that find success along with their personal support base.

I personally think you're pissing away a good opportunity by letting what you think as parasites get inside your head. I did notice you've had a really bad attitude in response, quite abusive at times. That doesn't help at all. But I still know what it's like to be pissed off.

@nonameslefttouse/one-of-those-hive-stories

I find this system we have here to be fascinating. I understand you have a large following elsewhere? Correct me if I'm wrong.

In that post I attempt to teach people how they can support the arts and entertainment they enjoy, for free, and even make money. If you have a large following elsewhere, you're missing out on an opportunity to not only establish you're own revenue stream here comprised of your own fans and followers, but also those people are missing out on an opportunity to earn by enjoying your work. I'm sure if you had a crowd here, not only would you be putting your all into your posts, but you'd never have to worry about any assholes coming along to take it all away. But if you think engagement is kissing ass, I've a feeling you're in the wrong field.

My intention here was to help but you're using this time to knock others down. That's a bit of a distraction for me.

I wrote this post as well recently:
@nonameslefttouse/id-like-to-take-this-moment-to-apologize-for-my-face

After being attacked and smeared for nearly one half year, having my work stolen and taken out of context, all because I tried to help someone getting downvoted and they misinterpreted my intentions. If you want to see what a real parasite looks like, I can show you one.

I can't help if you refuse to focus on your approach and prefer to make everyone else look and sound like monsters. I'll admit that sensationalized comment in your post and your attitude lacks professionalism and does personally annoy me.

My position is something like: I agree with some of the downvotes but also see a unique talent that could do better by taking more pride in his work. Some of your art is incredible. What is art without eyes looking at it? Views are more important than rewards. Hard to watch a guy quit because the rewards were more important than the views. I don't think you need to quit but if you've made up your mind you hate the place, being here will only make you miserable. But I don't want to tell you what to do or what not to do. I've done well here as an artist and know damn well others can, but it takes a lot of work. There are plenty of artists doing well and rising up the ranks. Even with very short and sweet posts, but their work is new, every time.

You're not the only one that has to deal with some bullshit or a bad day from time to time. I've had plenty and all it does is make me want to push harder, but not in ways that lead to self destruction.

And pardon all my edits, I'm doing 50 things at once again.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center