Devotion: Drawing or meditation? | Step by Step + SpeedArt [EN/ESP]


Bilingual Post/Publicación Bilingüe


English / Inglés


cover.jpg


Hello, my Dear Hiver ! ;)

These days i felt a strange desire to do some kind of portrait, like in studio mode or maybe just to keep the creative energy flowing. I admit that watching so many tutorials about art and design triggers my curiosity to try things that are not so usual for me. That's why for me this creative process is like meditating, but not in an artificial and cliché way, but like when you give yourself totally to the practice and you feel that ocean of emotions and thoughts that don't stop and you observe them to analyze and transform them or just let them go... That's how it usually is when i draw.

separador.png

My Creative Process


The most common when drawing is to search for references, either to seek inspiration, practice anatomy, among other things... should never be based on copying what we see, otherwise it would be ridiculous to talk about inspiration and creativity. In my case, i admit that this method has never been my forte, that's why i never gave it much importance, because every time i tried to "look for references" i ended up with a whiter sheet of paper than normal and with a God level frustration. But this time i wanted to make an exception and try it again, because i don't feel the same as before, so i said to myself: Let's see... let's go to Pinterest.com :

pin.png


At first i was a bit skeptical, i thought i wouldn't end up doing anything as it usually happens, but then i stopped to look at black and white photographs, i adore grayscale, i never get tired of saying it. There is something so absurdly emotional about black and white photography that immediately captivates me. I was carried away by the emotion and feeling of the first photo on the top left. And i started to sketch something, i liked the pose and it just took shape. Obviously my intention was never to draw the model in the reference photo, it was just a guide to draw something based on the pose and the feeling produced. At the same time it would help me to get out of my comfort zone.

separador.png

STEP 1 Inspiration and Atmosphere | Outline - Gray Base


When i was making this drawing, i wasn't really thinking about a particular subject, just drawing and that's it. But it's naive of me to think that it won't mean anything, in the end it ends up becoming something deep. Every time i draw I like to create my motivational environment, i put some youtube channel that I like, usually of some artist talking while drawing or whatever... it's like a nice company with good conversations and music in the background and no fooling around, i admit i'm not very tolerant with certain topics of conversation. While i was immersed in the first layer of the drawing, the gray layer, neutral and relaxing, i admit it was like practicing a deep meditation session with Kundalini yoga mantras, a thousand emotions start to come up, positive and negative mind, also with the piano in the background of that video, oh my God... I got super emo.


step 1.jpg


When i had fully defined my sketch, with a ballpoint pen i began to outline my little creature and then with a medium gray pencil, i prepared the base of my drawing. Actually, i had not decided the direction this drawing would take, that's why i used the pen. i was in a doubt whether to do it in ink, grayscale...


step 2.jpg


At this point i got excited and continued coloring it in gray, i have always loved the statues in cemeteries and the serenity of my creature reminded me a lot of those marble angels. For a moment i wanted to leave it like that but i had already decided to do it in color.


grayscale scann devo.jpg

separador.png

Step 2 Scattered Thoughts vs. Stale Frustrations
| Skin Tone Basis: Zombie Style |


I confess that piano music takes me to a zone of nostalgia and pure melancholy, not in a negative way, it's more like a kind of angelic shelter, to describe it in some way... But while drawing it took me back to my past sadness and frustrations. I was always tormented because of injustices like the abuse of children, teenagers, women, everything. It really made me sick for days when i saw that kind of stuff on the news. In the present i managed to control that, but now from time to time it comes out in subtle ways.

To console myself, my mind brings up a dream i had a long time ago where i became a spirit. On that road as i began to walk through places i supposedly knew while "living" before crossing over to my new ethereal abode, i ran into another spirit inside a building, on the stairs we began to talk about a concern i had:
-No one will be able to see me anymore- I said with anguish.
Then that spirit said to me:
-Now it is not important that they see you, but they feel you.

Feeling, that's it ... I understood many things there..


step 3.jpg


Back to color... Before starting to work on the skin, i like this method of using gray, purple and green to give the skin tones more depth, texture... I'm not a big fan of drawing directly on the white paper. The ideal would be a toned gray paper that is used a lot for this technique, but iI don't have that paper so i had to work twice as hard. I also admit that this procedure relaxes me because the next one usually frustrates me terribly.

I then began to shape my dark skin with different shades of brown. Suddenly my mind was getting frustrated again. It was like meditation and those crazy thoughts unleashed and i went back into my trance:


step 4.jpg


Currently, in my country Venezuela are coming to light all those atrocities that before nobody saw in the news, many children and adolescents abused and mistreated, some brutally murdered by relatives, neighbors, etc... The ignorance is such that many are astonished, they think it is because of quarantine or government. As Albert Einstein said: "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe". That's what i think when i see them astonished about it.


And yes, with that piano in the background and submerged in the deepest gray, i remembered a news from a few months ago about a
young girl, raped and murdered with a machete in her own home. As i talk to myself i think: but that always happens you know...certainly, it is regrettable but why torture myself thinking about that particular case, because it is simply not because of how she died. She was a girl abandoned by her mother, she left her with her father, who was called a "monster"...he abused his daughter and everyone in the neighborhood knew, everyone knew that that teenager had a suffering life and no one did anything until one night, a 19 year old neighbor, if i am not mistaken, wanted to "collect a favor", that's what he said.

"The neighbors were very astonished". That "infinite stupidity" caused me severe depression in the past.

That's why i remember this dream, i like to think that these innocent spirits are calm. And in the midst of this momentary sadness that makes me think of her, an innocent creature who represents many unfortunately... I console myself with the messages that strange beings tell me in my dreams. Then i continue to draw my little Devotion.

separador.png

Step 3 | Colorful Lights


One of the things that i find very curious about my style is that although i have an attachment to grayscale, black and white, when i think of drawing in color, i want it to be very vibrant, that the lights are also colorful, although in that process the "human appearance" is lost, which i find wonderful because I'm not very fond of drawing humans.

Obviously i couldn't miss my famous 3rd eye, the eyes will always be like a signature for me. For the lights i used yellow, orange and pink tones. I like the brown skin to have that bronze look, with golden and metallic tones, unfortunately the traditional drawing is better appreciated in person, because in photos or with scanner is not the same, everything is modified and the colors are not perceived as i would like.


step 5.jpg


step 6.jpg


At this point i realized that i drew without noticing it my favorite mutant from X-MEN: "Storm" with her brown skin and grayish white hair. I had doubts whether to continue with this discovery but i followed the main plan.


step 7.jpg

separador.png

Step 4 : Pink and Rainbow Hair


From the beginning i wanted to draw a creature with a dark complexion, i immediately thought of a lush fantasy colored hair, because i love how these colors look on dark skins. I accentuated the lines with a violet blue and for the final details like the background and highlights i used aquamarine or turquoise, it's a color that i personally love so it would create the contrast i needed.


step 8.jpg


step 9.jpg


step 10.jpg


fin 1.jpg


Fin 2.jpg

separador.png

Materials I used | SPEEDART

separador.png

For this illustration i only used drawing paper, a black ballpoint pen, a gray Faber-Castell Art Grip pencil and Prismacolor Premier colored pencils. I usually prefer hard or compact lead colors like Faber, but this time for this technique that required many layers, i needed to use the Prismacolor whose lead is as they say "creamy" or pasty, it is much softer.


step 11.jpg


In the end, i put it in a special place i have. I always renew it with a drawing, it was time to change it. :)


final.jpg

separador.png

Crazy and Improvised Tips

separador.png

I usually draw in my room and honestly the lighting in any part of my house is not good. Sometimes it was a bit uncomfortable to draw especially at night. So i decided to buy these curious ring lights, it was really just to take pictures of my drawings but i came up with this brilliant idea of placing it on my head and honestly, it has been a great discovery. Sometimes i used to see other artists while they were drawing in their rooms in the dark, with a very bright white light and i really thought they were crazy and would be blind, but it turned out to be the opposite. I know i could put it somewhere else, build something to put over my head but no thanks, i'm not very good at engineering.


tips.jpg


And that's all for now... Thanks for visiting and supporting my little artistic corner, see you later! Blessings! ;)

separador.png

separador.png

MY SOCIAL NETWORKS AND GALLERIES
Content Created by me
Translated with Deepl.com
©Medussart 2021



separador.png

Español / Spanish

separador.png

Devoción: Dibujo o Meditación? | Paso a Paso + SpeedArt


cover.jpg


Hola mi Querido Hiver! ;)

En estos días sentí un extraño deseo de hacer como una especie de retrato, como en modo de estudio o tal vez simplemente como para mantener la energía creativa fluyendo. Admito que ver tantos tutoriales sobre arte y diseño me activa la curiosidad por probar cosas que no son tan usuales en mi. Por eso es que para mi este proceso creativo es como meditar, pero no de una forma artificial y cliché, sino como cuando te entregas totalmente a la práctica y sientes aquel océano de emociones y pensamientos que no se detienen y los observas para analizarlos y transformarlos o simplemente dejarlos ir... Así suele ser cuando dibujo.

separador.png

Mi Proceso Creativo


Los mas común al dibujar es hacer una búsqueda de referencias, bien sea para buscar inspiración, practicar anatomía, entre otras cosas... nunca debe ser en función de copiar lo que vemos, de lo contrario seria ridículo hablar sobre inspiración y creatividad. En mi caso, admito que este método nunca ha sido mi fuerte es por eso que nunca le di mucha importancia, pues cada vez que intentaba "buscar referencias" terminaba con la hoja mas blanca de lo normal y con una frustración nivel Dios. Pero esta vez quise hacer una excepción e intentarlo de nuevo, porque ya no me siento igual que antes, entonces me dije: A ver... vayamos a Pinterest.com y coloqué en el buscador "faces o rostros":

pin.png


Al principio estaba algo escéptica, pensé que no terminaría haciendo nada como suele pasar, pero luego me detuve a ver las fotografías en blanco y negro, adoro la escala de grises, no me canso de decirlo. Las fotografía en blanco y negro tiene algo tan absurdamente emocional que me cautiva de inmediato. Me dejé llevar por la emoción y el sentimiento de la primera foto en la parte superior izquierda. Y empecé a esbozar algo, me gustó la pose y simplemente fue tomando forma. Obviamente mi intención nunca fue dibujar a la modelo en la fotografía referencial, solo era una guía para dibujar algo en base a la pose y la sensación producida. Al mismo tiempo me serviría para salirme de mi zona de confort.

separador.png

PASO 1 Inspiración y Atmósfera | Delineado - Base Gris


Cuando realizaba este dibujo, realmente no pensaba en un tema en particular, simplemente dibujar y ya. Pero es ingenuo de mi parte pensar que no significará nada, al final termina convirtiéndose en algo profundo. Cada vez que dibujo me gusta crearme mi ambiente motivador, pongo algún canal de youtube que me guste mucho, por lo general de algún artista hablando mientras dibuja o lo que sea... es como una grata compañía con buenas conversaciones y música de fondo y no tontearías, admito que no soy muy tolerante con ciertos temas de conversación. Mientras me sumergía en la primera capa del dibujo, la capa gris, neutra y relajante, admito que fue como practicar una sesión de meditación profunda con mantras de Kundalini yoga, se me empiezan a brotar mil emociones, la mente positiva y la negativa, también con el piano de fondo de aquel video, oh mi Dios!...me puse super emo.


step 1.jpg


Cuando definí en su totalidad mi boceto, con un bolígrafo comencé a delinear a mi pequeña criatura y posteriormente con un lápiz de color gris medio, preparé la base de mi dibujo. En realidad, no tenia decidido el norte que tomaría este dibujo, por eso utilice el bolígrafo. Estaba con una duda de si hacerlo en tinta, escala de grises...


step 2.jpg


En este punto me emocioné y seguí coloreándolo de gris, siempre me ha encantado las estatuas que están en los cementerios y su serenidad me recordó mucho a esos ángeles de mármol. Por un instante quise dejarlo así pero ya había decidido hacerlo a color.


grayscale scann devo.jpg

separador.png

Paso 2 Pensamientos Dispersos vs Frustraciones Añejas
| Base Zombie para los Tonos Piel |


Confieso que la música de piano me lleva a una zona de nostalgia y melancolía pura, no de forma negativa, es mas como una especie de cobijo angelical, por describirlo de alguna manera... Pero mientras dibujaba me llevó de vuelta a mis tristezas y frustraciones del pasado. Siempre me atormentaba la vida por las injusticias como el abuso de niños, adolescentes, mujeres, de todo. Realmente me enfermaba por días cuando veía ese tipo de cosas en las noticias. En el presente logré controlar eso, pero ahora de vez en cuando brota de forma sutil.

Para consolarme mi mente trae un sueño que tuve hace mucho tiempo donde me convertía en espíritu. En ese camino mientras empezaba a recorrer lugares que supuestamente conocía mientras "vivía" antes de cruzar a mi nueva morada etérea, me topé con otro espíritu dentro de un edificio, en la escalera comenzamos a conversar sobre una preocupación que tenia:
-Ya nadie podrá verme- Decía con angustia.
Entonces aquel espíritu me dijo:
-Ahora no es importante que te vean, lo importante es que
te sientan.

¡Sentir!, eso era... alli entendí muchas cosas.


step 3.jpg


Regresando al color...Antes de comenzar a trabajar la piel, me gusta este método de usar el gris, violetas y verdes para darle a los tonos piel como mas profundidad, textura...no soy muy fan de dibujar directamente sobre el papel en blanco. Lo ideal seria un papel especial de tono gris que se usa mucho para esta técnica, pero no tengo ese papel así que debía trabajar el doble. Además admito que este procedimiento me relaja porque el siguiente, me suele frustrar terriblemente.

Luego comencé a darle forma a mi piel oscura y morena con diferentes tonos de marrón. De pronto mi mente frustrándose de nuevo. Era como estar meditando y aquellos pensamientos locos desatados y volví a mi trance:


step 4.jpg


En la actualidad, en mi pais Venezuela están saliendo a la luz todas esas atrocidades que antes nadie veía en las noticias, montón de niños y adolescente abusados y maltratados, algunos brutalmente asesinados por familiares, vecinos, etc. La ignorancia es tal que muchos se asombran, creen que es por causa de la cuarentena o el gobierno... Como decía Einstein: "Dos cosas son infinitas, el universo y la estupidez humana; y del universo no estoy seguro". Eso pienso cuando los veo asombrarse.


Y sí, con ese piano de fondo y sumergida entre el mas profundo gris, recordé una noticia de hace unos meses sobre una adolescente, violada y asesinada con un machete en su propia casa. Mientras hablo conmigo misma pienso: pero eso ocurre siempre sabes...ciertamente, es lamentable pero por qué torturarme pensando en ese caso en particular, pues sencillamente no es por cómo murió. Fue una niña abandonada por su mamá, la dejó con su padre, el cual lo llamaban "monstruo"...él maltrataba a su hija y todos en el barrio sabían, todos sabían que aquella adolescente tenia una vida sufrida y ninguno hizo nada hasta que una noche, un vecino de 19 años, si no me equivoco, le dio por "cobrarse un favor", así dijo...
"Los vecinos muy asombrados". Esa "estupidez infinita" me causaba en el pasado severa depresión.

Por eso recuerdo este sueño, me gusta pensar que esos espíritus inocentes, están tranquilos. Y en medio de esta tristeza momentánea que me produce pensar en ella, una criatura inocente que representa a muchos lamentablemente... me consuelo con los mensajes que seres raros me dicen en sueños. Entonces, continuo dibujando a mi pequeña Devoción.

separador.png

Paso 3 | Luces Coloridas


Una de las cosas que me parecen muy curiosas sobre mi estilo es que aunque tengo un apego por la escala de grises, el blanco y negro, cuando pienso en dibujar a color, quiero que sea muy vibrante, que las luces también sean coloridas, aunque en ese proceso se vaya perdiendo la "apariencia humana", cosa que me parece maravillosa porque no soy muy de dibujar humanos.

Obviamente no podía faltar mi famoso 3er ojo, los ojos siempre serán como una firma para mi. Para las luces use tonos amarillos, naranjas y rosas. Me gusta que la piel morena tenga esa apariencia como de bronce, con tonos dorados y algo metálicos, lamentablemente el dibujo tradicional se aprecia mejor en persona, ya que en fotos o con scanner no es lo mismo, todo se modifica y no se perciben los colores como me gustaría.


step 5.jpg


step 6.jpg


En este punto me di cuenta que dibujé sin notarlo a mi mutante favorita de X-MEN: "Tormenta" con su piel morena y su cabello blanco grisáceo. Tenia duda de si continuar con este descubrimiento pero seguí el plan principal.


step 7.jpg

separador.png

Paso 4 | Cabello Rosa y Arcoiris


Desde un principio quise dibujar una criatura de tez morena y acanelada, inmediatamente pensé en un cabello frondoso color fantasía, pues me fascina cómo lucen estos colores apastelados en las pieles morenas. Acentué la líneas con un azul violeta y para los detalles finales como el fondo y reflejos utilicé color aquamarine o turquesa, es un color que personalmente me encanta así que crearía ese contraste que necesitaba.


step 8.jpg


step 9.jpg


step 10.jpg


fin 1.jpg


Fin 2.jpg

separador.png

Materiales que Utilicé | SPEEDART

separador.png

Para esta ilustración solo utilicé papel de dibujo, un bolígrafo negro, un lápiz de color gris Faber-Castell Art Grip y lápices de colores Prismacolor Premier. Usualmente tengo preferencias por colores de mina dura o compacta como los Faber, pero esta vez para esta técnica que requería de muchas capas necesité utilizar los prismacolor cuya mina es como dicen por ahi "cremosa" o pastosa, es mucho más suave.


step 11.jpg


Al final lo coloqué en un lugar especial que tengo. Siempre lo renuevo con un dibujo, ya era hora de cambiarlo :)


final.jpg

separador.png

Tips Locos e Improvisados

separador.png

Suelo dibujar en mi cuarto y sinceramente la iluminación en ninguna parte de mi casa es buena. A veces era un tanto incómodo dibujar sobre todo por la noche. Entonces decidí comprar estos curiosos aros de luz, realmente era solo para tomar fotos a mis dibujos pero se me ocurrió esta brillante idea de colocarlo en mi cabeza y sinceramente, ha sido un gran descubrimiento. A veces solía ver a otros artistas mientras dibujaban en sus cuartos a oscuras, con una luz blanca muy brillante y la verdad pensaba que estaban locos y quedarían ciegos, pero resultó ser todo lo opuesto. Se que podría colocarlo en otro lugar, construir algo para colocarlo encima de mi cabeza pero no, gracias, no soy muy buena con la ingeniería.


tips.jpg


Y eso es todo por ahora...Gracias por visitar y apoyar mi pequeño rincón artístico, Nos vemos luego! Bendiciones! ;)

separador.png

Mis Redes Sociales y Gallerias

Contenido creado por mi
Traducido con Deepl.com

©Medussart 2021

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now