Purr-fectly spooky Halloween!

My feed all over social media has been filled with Halloween related content especially costumes and art so I decided to create something inspired by the celebration. We don't do Halloween stuff where I come from, everything I know about this is from the Internet and that's one of the advantages of the Internet, learning about other people's culture and knowing how they live.

halloween pumkin.png

Halloween is a spooky and fun holiday celebrated on 31st october. People of all ages dress up in costumes, decorate their homes with creepy creative decorations, it's basically a time for spooky stories, haunted houses and enjoying sweet treats. Sounds fun to me

divider.png

PROCESS

Many Halloween inspired work has witches, haunted houses, bats, dead trees and they always look cool but did I want to do that? Having pumpkins is like a must because I see it in almost all of them so I included it in mine but no witches, just little dead trees. I wanted to create something different so I made a sketch of a cat sitting on a pumpkin. To be very honest, drawing the cat was challenging and i love cats😫, I know that with time I'll get better because I love drawing them. I painted flat colours for the cat and the huge pumpkin.

1.png

2.png
divider.png

For the details, I started by adding the vertical curved lines on the pumpkin, painted both lighter and darker orange in some areas. Then I went over to the cat, I painted darker colours to the hidden areas like the chest and inner arms. I also added some details to her face and ears.

3.png

4.png

I placed a big moon behind and I'm really happy with how it looks with all the tiny details I added with a texture brush. I painted few leaves, dead trees and also carved the pumpkin(pumpkin eyes, nose and mouth🎃). I then began to paint the whiskers and facial features for the cat and at this point, everything was coming together nicely💃

divider.png
5

6

I painted birds, smaller leaves, more dead trees and a little glow behind the moon. I added a new layer and set it to overlay, I began to paint the blue details on the punkin, more glow on the moon and some lighting on the face and body of the cat. Finally, I added some little shiny dots all around and made some minor adjustments. What do you think?

7.png

halloween pumkin.png
divider.png
That's all for now, I hope you like this work, see you in another blog...

Tools Used
Adobe Photoshop cc2019
Huion drawing tablet and pen

Have a lovely Tuesday😍 🍻

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center