"My DNA" Cut-Paper Artwork 「私の遺伝子」切り絵 [English and Japanese]

IMG_5368.jpeg

"My DNA" Cut-Paper Artwork

I created this cut-paper art before and changed the background this time. After receiving my DNA results, I was inspired by my ancestors, Tungusic people who were strongly connected to a nomadic lifestyle, shamanism, animism, reindeer, hunting, medicine, and more. It made sense to me. I was amazed at how my ancestors came to Japanese land. Amazingly, I could trace back to almost 270 generations.

Unfortunately, I can only search my mtDNA because I am female. I am asking my cousin to search his Y-chromosome DNA if he can, but I guess he is not interested in it now. I wish I could ask my father or brother when they were alive. I also found out that both my parents have Ryukyu DNA as well using different DNA search kits. My ancestors came from a freezing place and came to a very hot island somehow in the past.

I was inspired by the cool photographer, Sebastião Salgado's photography when I visited the ROM museum in Toronto, Ontario, Canada almost 7-8 years ago. When I saw his famous Chukchi-Siberia people's beautiful photography, I lost my words for a while. I didn't know why I was attracted to it at that time because I didn't search my DNA at that point. I was also inspired by Jimmy Nelson's Chukchi-Siberia people's photography as well.

I designed the lady (probably me and my ancestor) in the middle of the icy world. This is probably a kind of portrait of me. The reindeer's white breath is surrounded by the lady and medicine mushrooms. The crow is peeking behind the white breath. The lady is wearing a thick warm traditional hoodie with fluffy feathers. After I created the cut-paper art, I added the background and digitally processed it.

I will continue this story and artwork post for part 2 soon.

IMG_5378.jpeg
This is the one that has just been freshly cut out.

IMG_5369.jpeg
"My DNA" Cut Paper Artwork: Portrait created in 2020 and digitally processed in 2024 by @koto-art.

IMG_2655.png
Japanese 日本語

IMG_5368.jpeg

「私の遺伝子」 切り絵

この切り絵は以前作成したもので、新しく背景を作りかえました。DNAを調べた時、自分の先祖であるツングース族が遊牧民の生活様式、トナカイ、狩猟、メディスン、シャーマニズム、アミニズムと深くつながっていたことに惹かれました。その先祖がいかにして日本の地へと渡ってきたのかを考えると、大変感動的でした。素晴らしいことに、約270世代までさかのぼって調べることができます。

私は女性なので、残念ながらミトコンドリアDNAしか調べることができません。いとこにY染色体のハプログループを調べて欲しいとお願いしたのですが、今のところ彼は興味がないようです。父や弟が生きているうちに頼みたかったです。別のDNA検査キットで検査したところ、両親ともに琉球のDNAが入っているとの結果も出ました。私の先祖が凍えるほど寒い寒冷地から暑い土地へと移動して行ったことを考えると、すごいの一言では言い表せません。

7−8年前にカナダオンタリオ州のトロントにあるROMという美術館を訪れた時に見かけた、写真家のセバスチャン・サルガド氏の素晴らしい写真に魅了されました。彼の作品であるチュクチ族の人々の写真を目にしたとき、そのあまりの美しさにしばらく言葉を失いました。その時はまだ自分の祖先のことを知りませんでしたので、なぜそんなに魅了されたのかはわかっていませんでした。さらに、写真家のジミー・ネルソンの撮ったチュクチ族の人々の写真にも同じく魅了されました。

氷の世界の真ん中に女性(おそらく私と私の祖先)をデザインしました。たぶんこれは肖像画に近いものです。トナカイの白い息がこの女性とメディスンであるきのこを囲みます。カラスが白い息の後ろからのぞいています。彼女は分厚い温かな伝統的なふわふわの毛皮がついたパーカーに身を包んでいます。この切り絵を作ってから、背景をつけてデジタル加工を施しました。

この話はパート2へと続きます。

IMG_5378.jpeg
これは作成し終わってすぐの段階の切り絵です。

IMG_5369.jpeg
「私の DNA 」切り絵: 肖像画 2020年作成、2024年デジタル加工 by @koto-art.

IMG_2655.png

Thank you for reading!
お読みいただきありがとうございます。
5FCAC85B-B01F-44CD-AE93-EBA6F7985D5E.jpeg
https://koto-art.wixsite.com/mysite-1

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center