Trapped Between Spaces | A Mixed Media Art Project

Apophysis-TrappedBetweenSpaces.png

Trapped Between Spaces. This theme for my current mixed media art project is one that explores one's physical environment that may have an effect on one's mental well being. Decades ago, I became a collector of antiques and other treasured items. I had no idea that what I was accumulating would eventually overrun my living areas and crowd me into a tiny area in which I would be looking and operating from the outside.

About twenty years ago, a co-worker jokingly made a comment to the effect that his vehicles weren't parked in his garage due to the fact that they were guarding his junk. Weather elements and other damage soon befell the vehicles.

I jerked back, speechless realizing his situation was one I faced. I immediately called my spouse. We put in motion our journey on downsizing. Collecting antiques was the first actionable item that needed to be addressed. I completed abandoned it.

In its place, we began a minimalist lifestyle. I didn't fully understand the concept I was embracing. It wasn't until ten years later when additional information and resources were available that I started to understand the problem and ways to address it.

My minimalist lifestyle is in full swing now utilizing the 90-90 rule. We determine items we haven't utilized in the past ninety days and project whether we'll use them in the upcoming 90 days. We set aside a date and time to devote to this exercise.

As senior citizens, we are decluttering our physical and mental space that imprisoned us both all our adult lives. I've learned that I can live without "things" surrounding me, pushing me into an unrealistic and unnecessary alien environment in which I felt trapped between the spaces.

To depict my version of the quandary I found myself in by living with clutter, I designed this alien art project.

Below are my steps.

262866.png

In designing my mixed media art project depicting "Trapped between Spaces", I began with two awesome pure fractals I designed in the advanced version of the fractal rendering program, Apophysis 7X.

My first pure fractal I appropriately titled "Space Junk 2" is a blend of curves, circles, and other shapes in various colors. It resembles a maze in which one can become entangled and confused. I love the cycle shapes as though waiting in the shadows to slice. A grim thought indeed of a beautiful fractal.

The second pure fractal resembles a roof turbine. I titled it "Rescue the World in Red". What an odd name I chose, but those were my thoughts at the time of creation. The coloring of this fractal represents the beautiful colors of my collectibles that can be deceiving. Having items that are pleasing to the eye surround you are a deception. They lull you into complacency each time you walk by and admire them.

Once enlarged, the fractals take on a menacing look.

rinreMr4T-dividerline-Resized.png

"Space Junk 2"
Apophysis7X-SpaceJunk2.png

"Rescue the World in Red"
Apo7X-230613-1-RescuetheWorld-Red-Transp.png

rinreMr4T-dividerline-Resized.png

The next image I chose to include in my trapped scene was a diffusion female I retrieved from the stable diffusion program, StarryAI. This was the first time I attempted the Style: MOODY. I retrieved four images. I chose the one below because it contained numerous items surrounding it that felt like clutter. I was pleased with the result. All that was required Below are the details:

StarryAI Text input:
"Beautiful female of the sea with piercing eyes blue eyes and orange markings on her face, pursed lips."

Style: Moody
Quality: Fast
Seed: 6277969015

StarryAI Result:

StarryAI-BeautifulFemaleOfTheSea-Image3-1.webp

rinreMr4T-dividerline-Resized.png

Two other images I included are shown below that added to the illusion of clutter.

Small elongated mushroom - Contributed to the #LIL by @borjan ~ Rhinoceros Beetle - Contributed to the #LIL by @borjan

262866.png

I then utilized Canva to blend the different type images. Below are my steps in which I begin with a blank, white canvas, then added layers of elements, removing backgrounds, resizing, and repositioning items as needed.

Added the pure fractal titled "Space Junk2".
image.png

Added the stable diffusion female image.
image.png

Added and removed background from the elongated mushroom.
image.png

Added a textured background to the canvas.
image.png

Added pure fractal that resembled a turbine.
image.png

Added the beetle. Removed background. Positioned beneath the mushroom.
image.png

262866.png

I share with you my completed project:

Apophysis-TrappedBetweenSpaces.png

262866.png

Thanks for taking the time to view my post. I hope you like my mixed media art project.

262866.png

Good luck everyone with whatever your endeavors.

SaturdaySaversClubNewBanner.png

justclickindiva-butterfly.png

SOURCES:
a) JustClickindiva's Footer created in Canva utilizing its free background and images used with permission from discord admins.
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) All Community logos, banners, page dividers used with permission of Discord Channel admins.
e) Ladies of Hive banner used with permission of and in accordance with the admin's guidelines
f) Thumbnail Image created by me in Canva.
g) "Flames." What is Apophysis 2.09. https://flam3.com/

1 What is Stable Diffusion? StarryAI.Com. Online at: https://starryai.com/stable-diffusion

262866.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center