Week 258 | My Splinterlands Art Contest Entry | Runemancer Atuat

Hello, hello! 💖

Yay, made it to the list last week. 🥳Congrats to all winners and entries.

This week's pick is Runemancer Atuat. It has been a while since I drew a male character. ☺️

image.png

Source

Art Process

runemacer7.png

runemacer6.png

I do not really draw male characters with bulky or muscular physiques. 😅 Muscles in particular are hard to master, let alone memorize the names by heart haha. I just know the basic muscles, and of course, with the help of shapes as a guide in building a body. So, I chose a close-up portrait of Runemancer Atuat. I seldom draw mustaches and beards since mostly in anime art style, male characters are in the young adult category. It is good to switch to unfamiliar elements sometimes. 😁

runemacer5.png

runemacer4.png

In one layer, I try to color the character. On top, I added a layer of overlay to play with the shadows. I learned this with fellow Hive artists, hehe. And then, I applied the base colors. The coat has a different color, so I chose the shades with the same saturation.

runemacer3.png

runemacer2.png

I airbrushed the fur coat with dark and light orange. Next, I chose a dark blue color in multiply mode. I use the edge pen eraser to erase the part where the light can come through. The light source would be on the left side of the character. For the eyes, I put a little twist by coloring it with bright green instead of a normal black pupil.

Final Art

runemacer1.png

I adjusted the opacity of the multiply layer so that the light source would pop. I use the blur brush to blur out some hard edges. I intensify the glow on the eyes and on the ring. I lowered the opacity of the lineart, which is usually solid, black lines. Lastly, I put some light specks of dust.

Finished art!! 🥰 I enjoyed doing this art. Happy Friday!

Thanks for reading~ 💖

Software: Clip Studio Paint Pro

That is it for this art blog. I will see you at the next one!
📸 All photos are owned and taken by me, otherwise credited.
©️jijisaurart
Reference here

👾 NFT Showroom: nftshowroom.com/jijisaurart
🥰 Open for commissions!!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center