Week 231 | My Splinterlands Art Contest Entry | Trapp Falloway

Hello, Legendaries!πŸ₯³πŸ”₯

I am happy that I am on the list of winners again for Week 230! This is twice in a row already. This time, I got the 5th place. πŸ˜‡ I do not know if I will be able to make it this week, hehe. But I am always trying my best and it is also my opportunity to practice my drawing skills. πŸ₯° By the way, the submissions last week are all awesome! πŸ”₯

Check the contest here. For this week, I chose Trapp Falloway to draw.

image.png

Source


Concept

I am imagining Trapp Falloway is an assassin hired by high society to kill their enemies. Glowy eyes and fangs were hidden in a tattered cloak. He lurks in the shadows and kills the target swiftly.

Since Trapp Falloway is an assassin, the concept is that he is chasing the target under the purple moon. It was so bright, the clouds glisten. He finally catches the target and attacks him with a one-hit kill dagger. Blood spewed. The stench blankets the pavement. Another successful assassination.~

trap7.png

trap6.png

Sketch

I first sketch the position of the character. I used a g-pen for the sketching. I am just thinking of the character holding the dagger and then the blood gushes to the hand or weapon. There will be splashes of blood. The moon will be glowing in purple. The character will have a devilish smile and the tongue is sticking out. For the lineart, I used a downloaded lineart pen. For the dagger, I added another layer and set it to a symmetrical ruler.


Base color and Shadow

trap5.png

trap4.png

Ooops, sometimes I forgot to include a layer to a saved PNG. πŸ˜† When I do the base colors, I separate them into different layers. Sometimes, other parts have different shading colors, so it is better to have separate layers. Well, maybe some peeps prefer just one layer. But after coloring and shading, I merge them all in one layer, one for the base and one for the shading. Colors are color-picked from the original art. I use this for the hands reference.


trap3.png

trap2.png

The sticking-out tongue is a challenge to me. πŸ˜… I usually just draw a grin or a smirk so this is a bit new to me. Thankfully there are a lot of references online. The tongue is like a sinister one, haha. Like those of demonic characters. For the sharp teeth, I just randomly make triangles. The eyes are easy! I just free-handed drew the swirls. The more crooked, the more organic.πŸ˜„

I added a new layer on top to make the glow of eyes. I also added the glow reflected on the hood and the tip of the tongue. The fun part is putting the blood randomly on the face, dagger, and hands. I used a dry brush and blended it with fingertip mode.

For the background, I chose black for the base and then dark purple for the clouds. I air sprayed small circles for details.


Final Art

trap1.png

I added more blood splash as if Trapp is attacking the target. I merged the layers and clipped a multplied black screen set in 20 percent opacity. I use another layer to put glows on the edges of the character.

Not gonna lie, I enjoyed drawing clouds lately. 😌☁️ Using a downloaded brush, I randomly put the clouds, making sure it is balanced on the art. Clipped a glow effect to make it glistening. I used a soft brush for the glow around the moon.

Tadaaaa~ 😍 Finished art! ☁️


Thanks for reading~ πŸ’–
Software: Clip Studio Paint Pro

That is it for this art blog. I will see you at the next one!
πŸ“Έ All photos are owned and taken by me, otherwise credited.
©️jijisaurart

πŸ‘Ύ NFT Showroom: nftshowroom.com/jijisaurart
πŸ₯° Open for commissions!!!

All of my NFTs are 1/1 non-generative, hand-drawn art, 1 by 1 produced!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center