Channeling Art Deco Style: Pen Sketch Riff on Mucha's Flowing Hair and Figures

Channeling Art Deco Style: Pen Sketch Riff on Mucha's Flowing Hair and Figures

Hello illustration friends,

Lately I’ve been feeling particularly inspired revisiting art deco master Alphonse Mucha, known for his ornate illustrations of female figures with rich, flowing hair in intricate patterns. While my skills barely compare to such an icon, I challenged myself to channel some of that turn-of-the-century spirit in a concept sketch yesterday.

20240213_220440.jpg

I started lightly drawing an indifferent looking girl glancing sideways, adorned only in the most basic of geometric dress lines to hint at clothing. But as always, the hair is the focal point for me. I built up wavy, interwoven tendrils cascading over her eyes and mouth in dense, flowing layers.

20240213_220813.jpg

Getting into the motion of each stroke, I continued the waves beyond the frame until they took on a life of their own. Suddenly she had a mane that morphed into clouds and scattered stars swirling around her head in imagined galaxies. Just a whimsical idea using a popular Mucha muse as the inspiration.

While admittedly a minor piece, I’m pretty happy with this attempt at echoing turn-of-the-century illustration energy in my own style. It taps into that art nouveau spirit of fluidity and bigger-than-life flair I love. I’ll likely revisit this creative motif as I keep practicing line work and building visual vocabularies.

20240213_222403.jpg

Let me know your quick thoughts on this pen and ink drawing concept! Do you enjoy the blending of vintage feminine figures and far off starry skies? As always, I appreciate you sharing in my creative process. Looking forward to the next illustration soon!

Hair1.jpg

I am open to commissions for tattoos or other designs.
See my work or contact me at : https://www.behance.net/Tim_Mack

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center