Tsubaki | Oni Collection #5


Tsubaki


Now, a flower

I've finally arrived at Piece #5 of my Oni collection, a collection of girls inspired by Japanese demons, who stand out for their large tattoos and their protruding horns on their heads.

Today I have to highlight a beautiful flower, the Tsubaki flower, or as we know it in this continent, the camellia flower, a beautiful bud from a large tree, who stands out for its beauty and color, it is also an appropriate name for this demon that looks in harmony with nature lying naked on the grass, but hiding her eyes from the camera.

Tools:

  • Gaomon S620
  • Photoshop
  • Brushes courtesy of Imad Awan: Download here

đź”°Processđź”°

-Step 1:

With thin and barely visible lines I made the sketch, since I didn't want something very loaded in lines because you know that I never use them in the finishing of the piece. Immediately in a new layer under the sketch, I added the base colors of the color palette that I would apply, this time I was clear from the beginning that I would work with more desaturated and darker colors.

-Step 2:

I tried to give a little more shape and volume to Tsubaki's body, while adding more details to the environment, and yes, that wave that you see behind, is a representation of the great wave of kanagawa, this iconic work of Japan, although I took the liberty of not doing it exactly as in the original painting, so it would fit better with the scene.

-Step 3:

And of course in this series can not miss the tattoos, and the pose in which Tsubaki lies is ideal for tattooing both arms, so first fill in gray area to tattoo and then with a layer mask sketch the design of the tattoo, and then go progressively detailing, this is usually what takes more time in the whole illustration

-Step 4:

Finally I finished the big wave, besides the sky, and so that the scene kept the same composition, I used the same textured brush for the whole environment, besides being the same brush I used for the hair, what I wanted to achieve was a contrast between the soft skin of the girl and the brushstrokes a little more disastrous of everything else.

That's why those beautiful and well defined flowers, I didn't use them as such, because the plan was to make a collage of real photos of Tsubaki's flowers, but it was completely out of tune with the illustration and made them look completely artificial, so later I blurred them.

-Step 5:

Due to the disastrous nature of the hair, I do not feel that the horns have fit properly and clash a little, although in turn they stand out quite in conjunction with the tattoos, so they are not all bad. On the other hand I did not want to spend too much time on flowers, so they resulted in nothing but pink spots, so it is very difficult to know that they are Camellias.

Something I want to consult with you is about the breasts, do you think it’s okay that I covered them with grass or maybe it was better to give them to highlight in plain sight?


I will leave you a GIF with the whole process on it, so you can better appreciate the illustration process.

Tell me in the comments that you imagine when you see this illustration.



See you in a future post!

Thank You for Supporting My Artwork

▶️ TWITTER|GHOSTMARKET|TERRA|NFT SHOWROOM|INSTAGRAM|FACEBOOK ◀️

TWITTER | GHOSTMARKET |TERRA VIRTUA |NFT SHOWROOM | INSTAGRAM | FACEBOOK

⬆️ Follow ⬆️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now