"Fungus Flinger" // My entry to the Splinterlands art contest (308)

Let me tell you a little story about how I started something, not really planning to see it through, but somehow, I ended up finishing it anyway.

It all began when I was testing out a new brush for sketching, just to see if it could work for my digital art contributions to the Splinterlands community. The character I picked to work on was the Fungus Flinger.

Fungus Flinger.jpg

He's a pretty odd, quirky character, kind of like something you'd see in the Ghostbusters movies. Honestly, he reminds me of a ghost from those films—covered in mushrooms and all. I like to think that maybe he drank some weird potion that turned him into this mushroom-covered monster. That's the story I imagined for him.

Now, the process of creating this artwork was surprisingly simple, even easier than my usual routine. But because of that, it was actually more fun. The sketching part was a bit messy, but in a playful way. I didn’t overthink it; I just went with the flow and let the drawing take shape as I moved along.

01.jpg

Once the sketch was done, I jumped into outlining. I used a bigger brush this time to make the lines thicker and give the whole thing a rough, sketchy feel. It’s a bit different from my usual style, but I think it worked well here.

02.jpg

03.jpg

04.jpg

After that, I got to coloring. I started with shading, adding in the shadows and darker areas.

05.jpg

I even used the smudge tool to blend the colors together, which gave it a smoother look. Once I was happy with the shading, I moved on to highlighting the light areas. This part was easier since I was just following where the light would naturally hit.

06.jpg

And there you have it... the final result of my artwork.

Fungus Flinger.jpg


Here's the reference image of the Splinterlands character.

I hope you enjoyed my little presentation!


curamax.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments