Sketchtember month of monsters day 4: Stitched monster

Hello everyone! 4th day of attempting creative consistency and so far... I do not like this prompt word enough XD
So the prompt word for today is a stitched monster. When you think about it, there's a lot of ways you could tackle this promt but for me, I prefer to go to the OG. For this prompt, I took to making Frankenstein's monster because... well... Who else better to do this with than dear Frankie?
I was actually thinking of doing a Sally doll too from nightmares before christmas, but idk, I think there's a better time to make her than now.
I actaully wasn't even in much of a mood to draw today because it jjust kept raining today and I just wanted to stay cozy somewhere for a nap so idk, today's drawing isn't all that great, but it definitely took a lot of effort to make

Materials used: rainbow pen, chalk, white jelly pen
duration: 2.5 hours cuz I did this at work during waiting time ;;-;;

I went for the movie version of this. The one from the 1900s (I forgot the exact year, I'm sorry! XD) and to make it more amusing, I actually forgot to bring paper to draw on for this one. Cuz I usually draw on vellum board to make sure the paper is thick enough that it won't tear when I apply a lot of layers and pressure on some specific spots. But IDKmy penning style still thins out the paper quite significantly so I've been trying to lighten my hand more.
Anyways, I found some empty sample packets in the lab and decided to use that since the paper for it is pretty thick, and the fact that it was already toned paper so I wouldn't have a hard time inking it to see the colors better.


So I started off with a yellow pen sketch as the base for the entire thing. I wanted to yellow in the background too but idk, I'm trying to conserve my pens for now because it isn't pay day yet and my yellow doesn't have much ink left in it XD


I didn't get to take enough photos of my progress this time cuz it was hard to do so while managing a few stuff at work. And I only got to do this during my waiting time and break. Luckily it was a pretty long break today so that gave me like... 1.5 hours to just speed through this sketch while having coffee and cookies in between. Aside from breaks, my supervisors try to minimize my engagements with non-work related activities now and it's been hard cuz they're being mean again ;;-;;


Well, this is all from me for today! Thank you so much for stopping by! I hope to see you guys on tomorrow's blogs. I'm trying to make time for the @artpark sketchtember event because I do love these people and the activities they've been hosting since I started coming back to art

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments