Sketchtember day 6: Eyes

Ommetapobia is the name of today's phobia today, which is a fear of eyes, or rather, of making eye contact and of many eyes watching you. And I sort of get that because it is a kind of social anxiety too. But I also kind of imagined this in a horror movie setting where you have a monster with a lot of eyes and all the eyes are looking at you... I kind of don't want that ;;-;; OR! or like when you enter a biology lab and you see a lot of disembodied eyeballs in glass jars and they just follow you... now that would scare the heck out of me ;;-;;

Materials: Ballpens
Duration: 2 hours

So I think this one came out pretty good ^^ and I actually enjoyed the prompt today. So maybe I was just sleep deprived and not burned out XD I was just exaggerating. I don't think I did enough justice to the eyes thoough, but I jut wanted to do a multiple-eyed monster this time because it kind of hits 2 birds with one stone here.


And working on the monster in itself did not take me long, what took me long was inking the entire page because I ran out of yellow paper and all my ink is at home so I really have no choice but to color the paper in by pens, which is quite a waste to me because I'm trying to conserve my pens for inktober too ;;-;;


Then I worked on my monster XD and the eyes because I think placing the eyes will give me a good random shape of my monster, but I didn't want to give it a definitive shape so I went with random squiggles along the orange eyes


And this is how the squiggles went. it isn't so bad... but I think I could have thought of a better shape... but I am sleepy af and I want more sleep again today ;;-;;


Despite me saying that I want to keep this simple, I did add a bit more details and more lines to give it a little more life. Like.. just the brown didn't really seem enough for me? It really felt lacking when I was looking at it from a different angle XD


Then I added a bit more to the background ^^ Just to make it a bit more dramatic. The plain yellow just didn't sit right with me, honestly. I feel like there should be a shadow somewhere too? But I wasn't sure where to put it, so I ended up not adding the shadow I wanted in the end.


Then I added my highlights and a bit of details on the eyes


That's all for today. I hope tomorrow's drawing would come out much better because I really don't think I'm doing my best this month. These sketches don't feel like the ones I did last year when I was super motivated, but then... my workload wasn't as heavy as it was last year compared to now.
So I guess I will be sleeping some more again tonight XD and hopefully hat will boost my spirits some more. Thanks again for stopping by, guys! Let's see if tomorrow's drawing will have any improvements!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments