Sketchtember day 1: Spider

Hello hello and here's my attempt at finishing a sketchtember this year yet again 🤣🤣 I don't think people make prompts for sketchtember like they do for inktober buuuttt I did find a retty good one that I thought I would do since I need a bit of creepy un my life, and it has been a while since I ever did horror. My current art style has been too light that even I'm not sure it's me anymore 🥲

Anyway, for the first day of Sketchtember, prompt 1 is Fear of spiders - arachnophobia. Ita fairly common phobia at that because even I would be scared if a tarantula suddenly wandered in the lab and bit everyone. So the fear is understandable.

For my spider though, I made it a point to make it as creepy as possible XD

Materials: yellow and blue ink for the base, rainbow pen, white pencil color for the highlights ^^
Duration: 2 hours

I just need the practice, I'm not looking to make a masterpiece in the free time I have to sketch. But if a masterpiece comes out from all this speed draws I'm doing then I would be incredibly happy.


And here is my progression


This is how I usually start most of my pen drawings now. with an ink base because pure white paper bothers me now and I have no idea why. And I keep forgetting how light my sketching hand is so I'm starting to hate my sketch layers, actually unless I directly sketch with pens.


See how much better it looks in pen XD I really do love how defined the colors are when it comes to pens and I guess this is the appreciation I haven't had since I haven't been doing traditional art that much again.


this was like... 1 hour and 15 mins into drawing and I was trying to see if I can make it look like it was hanging from a tree. Unfortunately I didn't have the pen colors for it so I borrowed all the green marker my sisters had and used those for the greenery


As you can see here, the marker greens have unevenly blended and I kind of wished I brought my markers home with me instead of leaving them at the lab XD but oh well. That's why having a white pencil color does come in handy a lot, and with me doing realism and semi-realism a lot the highlights are really important to me.


And here's the end result ^^ I kind of liked how the light looks pretty scattered in the final drawing so I think I did a good job with the highlights here.


That is all from me today ^^ I hope to see you guys again tomorrow! I really hope I can stay consistent this year and actually finish all the prompts, especially since I really love the prompts I'm using this time.

Here is the prompt!
Thanks for stopping by guys!
I'd be up for commissions if anybody's interested ^^ you can reach me on discord: bananzellthealchemist

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments