Random prompt day 1: Spider

Hello hello my dears! It is digital art day again for me and I am happy to say that I've been doing a new art prompt challenge for the time being, but actually, I'm doing this as practice for sketchtember and inktober! Busy art months for me and I hope I can find another prompt for November and December as well so I can just complete the ber months with art.
The prompt I am going with is actually from last year, it's called 30 days of phobias and here is the list:


I've slashed off the first item on the list because today counts as my first day. I don't intend to like do this everyday, but I do plan to start this off digitally as practice then do this on ink and paper in September as a warm up for inktober itself. So without further ado, here is my Spider prompt.

Software: Medibang paint
Duration: 3 hours

I am iffy about how this one came out because I feel like I could have smoothened it out a lot more and maybe added a bit more detailed on the skin so it doesn't end up looking like this corpse... But then the corpse could have been spider infested and I think that thought in itself was comforting enough for me to proceed with the drawing.

So for my progression


Here is my pale af sketch base that I did not put much thought into. I really only thought that I wanted to do this prompt.


Then I went layer by layer and I'm surprised I only stuck with watercolor and airbrush for this one this time. I actually just wanted to look pale and ghostly so that she does look like a corpse at least.


Then I started adding in details and adding a sharper contrast because I needed that black and I also needed to see the details on what I was doing and if I wanted to continue in this direction. Cuz this was kind of the point where I wanted to stop because it looked so meh.


But then I added the spiders and I thought that it didn't turn out as bad as I thought.


So I went through with it and worked on the lips and the highlights I had to do on the spiders and everything else.


Anyway, this is all from me for today. I am tired af and had to work this Sunday because the company is trying to reach the monthly quota again so if my art quality this time is so bad, I can understand but then I only got to work on this with what little energy it I that I have left. Thank you guys for stopping by though! And I hope to see you guys on the rest of my blogs!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments