A Longing

For this year, I think I'll be more colorful.
This was the first thought I had as I opened my sister's Christmas gift for me. A full 120 piece color pencil set awaited me as I tore open the wrapping.


I swear, it was the most beautiful set I've ever seen. like, I've only been planning to get the set, but my sister, knowing that I've been focusing on my art a lot lately, decided to get me this 🥰 it makes my inner child and my adult self so happy. So for the new year, I decided to add a bit of color in my life. I don't think I'll ever get out of my love for low light and low exposure photography, but at least, I can accept colors and neoncore aesthetics again as part of me. like, that kind of aesthetic is so hard to pull off with just pens or even with just watercolours and markers because there's so many shades to consider in just one spectra of light. I think it's better to just show and not overcomplicate this blog with technicalities.

materials: pencil colors, charcoal
Duration: 4 hours

As you can see, I'm definitely not used to this much color that it took me 4 hours to figure out everything, but goodness did it come out awesome 🥰


I started off my sketch with the lightest blue pencil I had in my palette. working a little on neon before kind of have me an idea of how to start this.


same with the orange I used. i went with the lightest then went 2 shades darker when it came to the blanding. also, when i choose colors, i kind of lean towards using colors that are a little on the next spectra, like if i hadn't blended it out, you'd see my darker shade is actually red-orange that's just a little on the lighter side so it's still a bit of a dominant orange


then if you can also notice my blue that's leaning to violet already. I also darkened the background with charcoal on this part because I needed to see how I would further blend this when it's supposed to be low neon light.


Then if you can notice here, i used indigo and a bit of heavy blue-violet for the shading and to add contrast. it was a nice technique and I think I'll try this on a different set of beon colors next.


Then this is my almost finished work where I just needed to finalize all the blending and smoothen out the textures a bit more


This is all from me for today. I've been trying to finish an old drawing after i finished this one but idk if I want to actually continue it or just do a new one because it isn't interesting to me right now. Anyways, I hope you guys enjoy my work. I'll see you guys again in a few days 😅

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now