Art as a mirror - behind each work is a story

How often when you see the work of a well-known artist, you wonder in your mind: and they call it art?

At the same time, the person next to you can feel delighted and admiration.

It's the same with music, books, and movies. I have long quit arguing with friends about whether a movie is good or not. This is a relative matter!

We are inclined to call something art when the work resonates with us, evokes emotions. Of course, there are some objective tools that could help in the assessment (like technical skills) ... but are they the only determinant of art?

That's why, long ago, I stopped reading movie reviews. I was irritated by taking the film apart, like a car in a workshop.

This part is broken, that one too...

But this old, broken car can have a soul!

Art is an amazing phenomenon. It's a mirror not only for the creator but also for the recipient.
If the recipient doesn't see in the artwork a part of himself, his experiences and emotions, he will not like it.

Sometimes I see paintings, photos or watch a movie and I know that these are perfect and refined works, but I don't feel it. And it doesn't mean that the creator didn't put his heart in it! There is often a story behind it, experience, and emotions, only I just don't receive it. We are on two different wavelengths.

That's why I don't like authoritative judging of works so much. It's like saying: your story sucks.
I understand constructive criticism when someone is in the process of improving technical skills ... but even then I focus on the details and do not reject the whole thing.

I understand constructive criticism, each of us also has the right to their comments and reservations. But then it's better to focus on the details than reject whole work.

So instead of saying it's ugly or it sucks I prefer to say - I don't like it or I don't feel it.

I remember one story from when I was a teenager. At that time, my dad was a kind of musical authority for me. He liked, among others, Frank Zappa, but I couldn't get through a single album. I thought I should listen to it and appreciate it because it's "good". I finally gave up and confessed: Dad, I know he is a world-famous artist, but I just don't feel it!

These thoughts accompanied me during my last work :)

Art is as relative, ambiguous, and hard to define as a human being itself. Sometimes it's like a beautiful memory, and sometimes like a nightmare...

My last work looks rather like the latter :)

This time I started with a sketch of the whole, but at a later stage, I changed things or two.

As you can see, I completely changed the insides.

And I'm just crazy about details, it doesn't make it any easier.

I tried several new brushes and made some mistakes... I can't promise I won't make them again :) Anyway, it was fun!


--- Thanks for stopping by! ---

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now