Personal Interpretation of the "Ginevra de' Benci" (Leonardo da Vinci)

trinityart gin de benci digi thumbnail.jpg

Heyho guys, dear alienart crew, art lovers, comic enthusiasts, fantasy fans and aaall who have the time and stopped by. Today I present you my comic style interpretation of a famous artwork.
"Ginevra de' Benci" was once created by the great Leonardo da Vinci, if you like you can read here a bit more about her:

https://www.dailyartmagazine.com/da-vincis-female-representation/
(the link is also the source of the following Screenshot and quote)

trinityart gen de benci Screenshot example of original.jpg

In this short article they write about da Vinci's Masterpiece:

Leonardo painted the image of this young woman who went beyond every patriarchal convention of her hometown.
She was the daughter of a rich Florentine family, but Da Vinci dressed her in plain and simple clothes so the spectators would focus all their attention on the young woman’s face.
Ginevra de Benci looks towards us, her serious look goes directly to encounter the beholder’s eyes.
In a note written on the back of the wooden panel, Leonardo stated that she was not only beautiful but virtuous, too.
We could say that her expression is the perfect example of the phrase “the eyes are the mirror of the soul”.

I chose a famous piece of art to 1. create my interpretation of it but also 2. to train my skills and of course 3. because I am a big fan of this famous artist and wanted to try out how this lady would look through my eyes and with my perspective. But also for the fun of it. Why not, it is not a 1 to 1 "Copy", because my intention was not to copy it, but to draw this on my special own style.

For the background I cut small excerpts from the original picture and put them together to a kind of collage, which I edited digital afterwards.

long story short

trinityart gin de benci digi long story short.gif

Background

trinityart gin de benci digi background.jpg

sketching and drawing...

trinityart gen de benci 1.jpg

trinityart gen de benci 2.jpg

trinityart gen de benci 3.jpg

trinityart gen de benci 4.jpg

trinityart gen de benci 5.jpg

trinityart gen de benci 6.jpg

trinityart gen de benci 7.jpg

trinityart gen de benci 8.jpg

trinityart gen de benci 9.jpg

trinityart gen de benci 10.jpg

trinityart gen de benci 11.jpg

trinityart gen de benci 12.jpg

Digitalised, editing, coloring...

trinityart gin de benci digi 1.jpg

trinityart gin de benci digi 2.jpg

trinityart gin de benci digi 3.jpg

trinityart gin de benci digi 4.jpg

trinityart gin de benci digi 5.jpg

trinityart gin de benci digi 6.jpg

trinityart gin de benci digi 7.jpg

trinityart gin de benci digi 8.jpg

trinityart gin de benci digi 9.jpg

trinityart gin de benci digi 10.jpg

trinityart gin de benci digi 11.jpg

Finished Artwork

trinityart gin de benci digi finished artwork.jpg

in my artwork I edited the eyes glowing, shiny, enlighten because if eyes are the mirror to our soul, they should be like that in my imagination. Hard to explain why, maybe its my conditionally mind which thinks this 🤣😋

First I have drawn it on a normal paper or to be more specific in my Art Sketchbook with a mechanical pencil, after scanned it and worked on it digital. Did some editing and stuff like that.
The face and lips were first in this freaky grey-green and red style, cause I mixed it up with the skin color at the end to get this gently effect of light rosa lips and a lighter skin which looks more like the original but at the same time fits to a comic style artwork. What you think of the result?

Feel free to leave your thoughts, a short comment, if you like.

Have a great day and thanks for stopping by.

Your @akida aka TrinityArt

Check out all of my NFT Art here:

https://nftshowroom.com/akida/gallery

Picsart_22-03-23_23-14-32-159.jpg

TrinityArt nftshowroom banner.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center