SLAM DUNK is making a comeback, so here's a RYOTA MIYAGI fan art <3



SLAM DUNK is one of the most popular sports anime back in the 90s. It's among the first Japanese anime I enjoyed. It's also one of the reasons why I love sports anime so much. Heck, I even started basketball in elementary because of it. It's really awesome.

Unfortunately, for some reasons, the series wasn't continued. However, just recently, it announced that Slam Dunk is making a comeback. Although it's not for an anime series, but it'll be available in the theaters as a movie. It will be entitled, Slam Dunk: The First Slam Dunk.

I'm super excited about this. And because of my excitement, I decided to make a fan art of one of my favorite characters which is RYOTA MIYAGI.

image.png



Anyway, here's a short trailer of the movie expected to be released in December 2022.



VIDEO SOURCE

Why I Like Ryota Miyagi?

There are various reasons why he's among my favorites alongside Mitsui. Of course, I like his character as a humorous and friendly guy. He also gets along pretty well with the main character, Sakuragi. However, apart from these, I love watching him play basketball. He's really fast! He's got awesome footwork and ball handling.

Although he's not gifted with height compared to the other players, this didn't stop him from upping his game. I miss watching his fake shots and his incredible moves. I'd love to see them again in the movie. Of course, I'm looking forward to checking out all the other players as well. I hope Sendoh is there! ahaha

Art Time!!!

Anyway, let me share some progress shots of my fan art. I just used various pencils and sketching tools for this because I didn't feel like coloring and I also want to practice and enhance my sketching. :)

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png



Isn't he cool? hahah I tried to make him a bit realistic than in the anime and I'm actually quite pleased with how it went. Of course, there are still a lot of things I need to learn and improve, but these days, I'm happier with my sketches than in the past. Well, I still feel the same enjoyment when making them, though.


image.png



These were the tools I used when sketching... well, except for the charcoal ones. I still don't know how to use them. hahaha But, I'll try... I'm just too lazy to watch tutorials. lol

image.png



It was fun drawing him. I want to draw my other favorite characters like Mitsui and Sendoh... or even Kogure. Well, Rukawa and Sakuragi seem fun to draw, too. We'll see. :)



Anyway, I love Miyagi and I hope to see more of him this December. How about you? Are you also into Slam Dunk? Who's your favorite character and why? Please tell me more about it. ^^

I'll end this post here. See you around fellow otaku(s)~!!! <3

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center