Why did Kira killed Ray Penbar and other FBI agents? | DeathNote

56208.jpg

In this post, I'll discuss one of my alterations in DeathNote which could have been interesting to watch. Of course, many alterations can be done, and you have also thought of many while watching the anime. So, let's hop in!

What is DeathNote?

DeathNote is a Japanese anime show based on manga of the same name. It was aired way back in 2006 and is still considered as one of the best anime show's and it really is. It majorly focuses on the story of two characters, Light Yagami a high school student, and L(I'm not gonna reveal his name). They both have extraordinary deduction skills and if you do the same, then it's going to be a treat for you. Light finds a notebook that can kill anyone whose name is written in it and start passing judgments on criminals. L is an anonymous detective who helps police to find the person who's behind these killings. When I first heard about this show in 2016, I thought that's a pretty straightforward concept but when I watched it, it amazed me more than many ways I could tell. The story engulfs you and demands your full attention, with an unexpected midway turn, introducing some new characters.

This show is brilliant and lacks nothing with a perfect ending, however, I think there's a certain point in the show where I think the character of Light takes an unnecessary decision which was executed brilliantly but seemed irrational for someone as brilliant as Light. And, I also have a twist that can also make the show end in a different direction or could continue the story but that's a story for another day.

PS: If you are interested and have already watched the show go ahead and read but if you have not watched this show, then stop now and go watch it, You can watch it on Netflix(Netflix has it with English Sub and dub, could be available with other languages but I don't know) or Crunchyroll(Crunchyroll has it with English dub and also with subs ).

56204.jpg

Why Kira Killed Ray Penbar?

This show is brilliant in writing and especially the characters of Light/Kira and L/Lawliet. I mean tried to impersonate their deduction skills while watching the show and at some points, they left me with unexpected turns such as the whole sequence of Kira and Amane Misa's arrest or the dead of L and I've also deduced some of these turns correctly such as L testing Light/Kira's power on TV or Kira's plan to kill Takada. But I was left confused with Kira's decision of killing Ray Penbar. Although this whole sequence was executed brilliantly and was one of the most powerful sequences in the show which also showed the power of excellent writing. Was it necessary, I mean Light was already cleared by the FBI and they were also not going to continue this, so why did he kill them only to revert the investigation against him. When the writers were focusing so much on these characters that a tennis match between them seemed like a court trial this was pretty unnecessary. I know it was all for the story and execution but I still they could have created a doubt or something with Ray Penbar to justify this.

What do you think about this?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now