FotM April 2022: Jacaranda Quenacho with Ebony Mouthpiece

Straight out of Bolivia, unbranded, unmarked, unadulterated, and 100% beautiful. The only decorations are the purity of the wood grain, the simple perfection in the bindings, and the touch of quality craftsmanship; every surface, interior and exterior, has been graced by the hands of a skilled craftsperson.
img_3042.jpg

I call this flute Terpischore. Its notch is wide and gentle, formed in the shape of a “U.” While these larger flutes can be more difficult to master than their smaller counterparts, this one has always been fairly amicable, responding to each breath with a sound both kind and warm.

img_3039.jpg

Because I am framed small and this flute is quite long, I had to take special care to practice proper handling/finger positioning. Outside of a proper form my fingers can’t cleanly cover the furthest holes, but when I position correctly and hold steadfast to that posture, I am able to play with almost as much speed as with the regular quena.

img_3040.jpg

I love the clean simplicity of this flute. After having made and decorated the OG SpiritFlute (Related posts), I was tempted at one point to engrave or burn similar markings onto the surface of this one. To this day, I’m glad I restrained myself and allowed this flute to continue on as it was intended.

img_3041.jpg
See that rounded mouthpiece? After seeing how the Kana J’Allu (Related posts) played nicely with a rounded mouthpiece, and the OG SpiritFlute (Related posts) had a beveled mouthpiece without issues, I beveled and rounded the mouthpiece. From what I can tell, any impact this may have had was negligible compared to the benefit of more comfortable play.

For an indexed view of (most) of my works, don’t forget to check out the Albus Index! Quickly search through my content or browse for what available by topic!

- - : GO TO THE ALBUS INDEX : - -

img_2455.jpg

Use my Coinbase referral link to get started with Coinbase! I’ll get $10 in Bitcoin but, more importantly, you will get $10 in Bitcoin too!

Here is a post I did recently about using Coinbase with HiveWallet to get Hive in the US. If you’re wanting to buy Hive and are having difficulties, this may be helpful for you!

img_1752.jpg

- - : GO TO THE ALBUS INDEX : - -

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency