Cleaning the Heat Pump and My Memories of Winter Preparations エアコンの清掃と冬の準備の思い出 [English and Japanese]

IMG_9121.jpeg

Cleaning the Heat Pump and My Memories of Winter Preparations

I was worried about the cleanliness of my heat pump because I missed scheduling a professional cleaning last spring before summer. I regularly cleaned the filters and surfaces myself, but I wanted to have it deep-cleaned by professionals.

However, I didn’t use the heat pump on the cool setting this summer at all. I only used it three times when the temperature exceeded 30 degrees. It was a very cool summer in this area. Since I live in the mountains, the temperature remains fairly stable. Ever since I installed the ceiling fan, I haven’t needed to use the heat pump or even the floor fan.

On the other hand, this autumn has already been quite chilly, so I needed to book the heat pump cleaner a bit earlier. Normally, it’s difficult to schedule with a technician during the busy season, and people in this area often have to wait a long time for an appointment. Fortunately, I was able to book the technician without having to wait a few weeks.

When the technician arrived, my dog got really excited to meet a stranger. The technician was very nice and efficient. He mentioned that my heat pump wasn’t too dirty, especially since I had kept the filters clean, and the dirty water only filled one bucket. I had expected it to be more than two buckets.

After the professional cleaning, I noticed the air power was stronger, and the air quality felt much fresher. I think I won’t need to set the heat pump as high this winter since I’ll be using the clean heat pump, the ceiling fan, and the wood stove.

To be honest, if I could switch to a newer, eco-friendly heat pump, my electric bills would be cheaper. However, I need to maintain this one a bit longer since a new one is quite pricey. I had to repair it last year, so I hope it won’t cause any issues for a while.

Even though I don’t enjoy preparing for winter, it makes me feel blue when I think about the cold, freezing months ahead. I can’t ignore it. I’ve already finished stacking the wood for the wood stove, cleaned and repaired the heat pump, gotten rid of old winter clothes and bought some new ones, cleaned up most of my summer garden except for a few herbs, and more. I guess I’m pretty ready for the coming winter.

I remember my grandfather was always quick and efficient at preparing for winter. Around this season, my grandmother would prepare pickled vegetables. I loved watching them and helping with winter preparations. I’ll never forget the smell of autumn during that time. The afternoon wind was always so chilly, and the colors of the fallen leaves were beautiful. I think I’ll write more about these winter preparation memories in my next post.

IMG_2655.png
Japanese 日本語

IMG_9121.jpeg

エアコンの清掃と冬の準備の思い出

今年の春、エアコンの清掃を頼むタイミングを失ってしまったので少し気がかりでした。フィルターや表面部分は定期的に自分で掃除をしているのですが、きちんとしたプロの手による内部の清掃はできていませんでした。

ところが、今年の夏はまったく暑くならなかったのでほとんどエアコンを使いませんでした。30度を超えた日が少なかったので、およそ3回くらいしかエアコンを使用していません。この地域は夏でもわりと涼しく、さらに家は山の中なので気温がわりと一定しています。シーリングファンを設置してからというもの、エアコンや扇風機を使う回数も減りました。

一方、今は秋の感じがすでに深まり肌寒くなってきたので、早めにエアコンの清掃を頼まなければなりませんでした。この辺りでプロの職人に予約をとるときは、忙しいシーズンは特にかなり待たなければ予約を取れないことが多いです。ラッキーなことに、今回は数週間以上待たずにすぐに予約をとることができました。

清掃員が到着すると、犬が見知らぬ人に会うので大喜びでした。清掃員さんはとても優しい方でした。家のエアコンは思ったよりも汚れが少なく、フィルターを定期的に清掃していたことでバケツ一杯ほどの汚水が出たくらいで終了したと教えてくれました。かなり汚いのではないかと心配だったので安心しました。

プロに掃除してもらった後は、エアコンのパワーがぜんぜん違う感じがしました。空気もなんだか違うように感じます。今冬は清掃が完了したエアコン、シーリングファンと薪ストーブを混ぜ合わせて暖かく過ごせるのではないでしょうか。

正直言うと、新しいエコのエアコンが欲しいと思うのですが、かなり高額なので今あるものを手入れしながら長持ちさせるのが無難です。去年は修理をしたので、しばらく問題が起こらないことを願います。

冬の準備は、あの凍える寒さを想像してしまうので気持ちが滅入って嫌ですがしないわけにはいきません。薪ストーブ用の薪は積み上げが完了し、エアコンの清掃と修理が完了し、古い冬服を処分して新しい冬服を数着用意し、ハーブ以外の夏の畑はほぼ掃除し終わりました。ほぼ冬の準備が完了したと言ってもいいと思います。

祖父は冬の準備が完璧で素早かったのを思い出します。この時期になると、祖母が野菜の漬物の準備をはじめていました。祖父母が冬の準備をする姿を眺めたり手伝うのが好きでした。あの頃の秋の匂いを忘れることはありません。午後はかなり寒く、落ち葉の色がきれいでした。冬の準備の思い出についてまた次回の投稿で書こうと思います。

IMG_2655.png

Thank you for reading!
お読みいただきありがとうございます。

0597137B-7AFC-4446-98F0-0766CC4835A7.jpeg
https://koto-art.wixsite.com/mysite-1

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center