JASON storage for 100k

So, I was at the restaurant in the afternoon, after ordered my food and I picked a less crowded spot, sit myself at the corner, right behind another table with 2 ladies at that place.

Food is really good, but I suddenly heard some unusual figures came out from the ladies behind me. I don't think anyone would even really think old ladies conversation to be intriguing as this one.

One of the lady told the other she sold her son's PenDrivĀ³(a brand of USB storage device) for RM100,000. The other lady was actually talking to this 100k lady about her son, which was killed in a freak accident some time ago, and it's nothing wrong to liquidate the children's belonging since he's not around anymore.


Source from Pixabay

The lady went on and say, she couldn't extract any pictures from the storage device other than some BIN file and JASON file(believe to be JSON) , so she went and check with the computer guys. The guy is very generous telling her it was a computer software her son is working on, and it worth about 120k once the project completed. The computer guy also offer her to buy over all the left over and belongings of the sons computer, and particularly mentioning if there's some rigged computer that consume a lot of electricity they might have, and he offer to takeover those machines for a reasonable price. So, the lady said she finally sold the company files in the drive for 100k, and balance of the computers that does not have a monitor, RM400 each.


Source from Pixabay

Although I may not be the smartest, but having heard of the conversation, it really drives me think how many BTC was in that USB wallet that contains only JASON file, and BINary files. There's a chance that the passing phrase and the seed all in the same drive. Knowing there's some computer that consume big electricity and does not have a monitor attached, big chance is the dead kid is a miner. Just how many BTC the computer guy saw in that USB device? The other person went on and congratulate her on being able to liquidate the sons asset at such high price and now she can finally prepare to migrate to UK to stay with the daughter or something.

For a very brief moment, I was so tempting wanted to jump over and ask the lady if she got anymore of those USB storage device with some JASON file in it. But, after I hesitated for a while, the patron left the restaurant and left me there with my jaw wide dropped. Now that I think it back, had the lady still got another USB drive with JASON, she could have get the same guy and sell it regardless of how much he has to offer.

Obviously, the lady doesn't know how those monitorless computer work. And the son were killed without leaving any extra information on what he was doing with those computers, naturally selling "scrap metal" to computer shop at RM400 a piece is a freaking good deal.

And now when I think back what am I trying to do, I feel nervous of how human can changed their mind when taking in lucrative information. I could be bringing the worst news to the lady, knowing her son was killed, and she sold his property for a fraction of its actual value. Even if the lady has another unit of those storage, let's say the JASON file shows me there's 2 BTC in it, am I going to spend RM470k to buy it from her? Or am I just as crooked as the other guy who paid 100k and obtained such piece of digital asset from the old lady's dead son?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency