Chess On The Road: Round 6 Review

In my last post in this community, I discussed being stuck in a state where the network is very poor. As chess players (both online and offline players), we all know how important our environment is in shaping the outcome of our games. The importance of the environment in chess games cannot be overlooked. When it comes to offline or physical chess games, it is important not to play in a noisy environment that can cause distractions. On the other hand, when it comes to online games, the environment/network plays a crucial role. Nothing beats playing chess with a smooth and fast network. Unfortunately, I’m stuck in a place with a bad network. In my last post, I mentioned that despite this factor, I’d try as hard as I can to participate in all rounds of the Hive chess tourney. I have vowed to participate in all the games of this round. Come rain or shine, I must play all the games.

Before the tourney began, I tested my network by playing a game. However, as soon as we started, my network connection dropped. I had to walk out of my apartment to a very far place. I was literally playing chess on the road. It was really messy. I committed many blunders even from the start and I just knew that this round wouldn't turn out well. Well, my intuition was right. Indeed, this might be my worst tourney so far. But, I have a valid excuse. I managed to win a few games and had two draws. Overall, I lost more games. Today’s tourney was my first experience playing a tourney in an unsettled environment. Let’s see how next week goes. As usual, I’ll review my games in this post.

Games 1, 2, 3 & 4

I won my first game because Darriuz, my opponent, didn't make a move. Next, I got paired with Masterswatch. The last time we played, he was on a train and didn't play well. I’d always wanted to a rematch with him. Sadly, the tables turned. I was still walking on the road when I played against him. I made a few” big” blunders. Yeah, I blundered my rook. My third game with Migmag was pretty embarrassing. I had captured his rook, but I made a bloody blunder and he landed a slapy checkmate on my cheeks. Similarly, I almost made so many blunders when I played against my next opponent, RDcast.

Games 5, 6, 7, & 8

My 5th-8th games were slightly better. I found a shade to stay and wasn't walking and playing anymore. My next game was against Just-ola. I played my games slowly and it ended in a draw. I was settled and angry. Unfortunately for my next two opponents, I took out the frustration on them. They were lower-rated players: Visago and Kon1.

Summarily, good games to everyone who participated in today's tourney. Next week, I'll try harder. In this place where there are no places with a good network, I’ll find somewhere slightly better. Let’s see how it goes. Till then.

Note: All images in this post are mine.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center