Blindfold game analysis

[White "Regular_Rick"]
[Black "blindbillblunder"]

1. e4 e6 2. d4 d5 3. e5 c5 4. c3 Bd7 5. Nf3 Qb6 { C02 French Defense: Advance Variation, Wade Variation } 6. Nbd2 Nc6 7. Be2 Rc8 8. Nb3 cxd4 9. Nfxd4 Nxe5 10. O-O Nf6 11. Bg5 Bd6 12. Bxf6 gxf6 13. Bh5 Ng6 14. Qf3 Nf4 15. Bxf7+ Kxf7 16. g3 Ng6 17. Rfe1 e5 18. Nf5 e4 19. Nh6+ Kg7 20. Qh5 Rhe8 21. Nf5+ Bxf5 22. Qxf5 e3 23. Qd7+ Re7 24. Qxc8 exf2+ 25. Kf1 fxe1=Q+ { White resigns. } 0-1

This game I played blindfold, I will not show any diagrams in this analysis, if you want to have a board you can go to the analysis function on lichess

My blind account is blindbillblunder, no secret about that. I do blunder more often than in regular sighted chess, lichess has a rule about addid blind for blindfold accounts so I did that.

When I play sighted I do play rather unorthodox stuff, this is not something I do when I do not see the board. I found that I had some problems with 1.e4 being blind, so I was looking for some opening that would make it easier, and the French seems to be excellent, I have played that in sighted chess, but it is not such a common thing anymore.

Okay so my opponent played the advanced French, nothing too special about that I played the early Bd7, not for any reason other than just putting the bishop on d7 to develop it and prevent any Bb5, even though it is a dubious move. Mainly developing the bishop though, since later on I might not find the "time" to play that move, sometimes it is played with the intent on playing Qb6 and Bb5 to trade the bishop. But this was not my intention in this game.

6.Nbd2, potentially I might be able to steal a pawn, but I am not sure that taking the pawn would be the best idea not seeing the pieces he might get a lot of play and make the game entirely to complicated. But also I do not have the pressure to take the pawn yet.
7.Be2 Okay here I could consider taking the pawn cxd cxd Nxd Nxd Qxd but again Nf3 Qb6 Be3 and it seems white has a rather good amount of development for one or perhaps even two pawns. Munching on b2 is also rather dubious and gets more of his pieces in the game, while my Queen will be sent to Siberia.
But I didn't analyse this in the game, I decided taking the pawn was more risk than I liked so I continued the game in a less risky fashion. 7.-Rc8 when I eventually do trade on d4 I will have the open c-file with a closed center.

8.Nb3 that was a bit weird, but okay he probably had to do this, to develop that bishop on c1.
9.Nfxd4 Wait what, why sacrifice the e-pawn? And leave the dubious knight on b3, this makes no sense to me.
10.-Nf6 normally in the French this is impossible as the knight either get chased from this square with a pawn push, or it will be captured, but since his pawn on e5 was lost this is just a good development move.
11.Bg5, well I am not afraid of the capture on f6, doubled pawns aren't a disaster and I haven't castled so my King is safe.
12.Bxf6 well nothing to be afraid of here
13.Bh5 surely the sacrifice on f7 is too much?
15.Bxf7+ it looks like to much, but he still went for it
18.Nf5 well he has two options the one I was worried about was the Nxd6, but then he didn't choose that, I thought that was an important piece for attack, he disagreed
21.Nf5+ well the draw with Kf7 is not interesting Kf8 Qh6+ looks like trouble, so I just snapped that knight off.
22.-e3! I liked this move, Qd7+ I had already planned Re7, though I did forget about the rook on c8 in the moment, and when he took that I thought I was down material, but then I did remember his rook on e1 and found that exf2+ leads to a very nice position for black.

I deliberately did not add diagrams as stated in the beginning, this is not only my being lazy, it is equally much to give the experience I had during the game, can you follow the analysis without a seeing the game positions ?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center